AUDIO MASTERING - REFINEMENT OF SOUND MATERIAL

What is audio mastering? audio mastering or just mastering called, is the last step in the post-production or audio processing or refining of audio material after mixing your tracks. The aim of mastering audio material is to create a balanced frequency response in all frequencies so that the song or track can be played on many playback sources sounds as good as possible. Individual frequencies, dynamics, loudness and energy distribution in the track or song must be taken into account here. An appreciation of the existing sound material is often, after Mixing, he wishes. In many cases, it is not only the task of the Mastering Engineers to make the song as compatible as possible with the various playback devices in the recording studio, but also Mistakes in the mix to reduce as much as possible and a good one stereo image to accomplish.

The Music production is it common practice that mix or that Mixing and the mastering are separated and each one different Recording studio is used, which specializes in the challenges of the individual sub-areas within music production. So find yourself more and more providers for the so-called Online mixing or Online mastering. The song is edited online by a mixing engineer and sent digitally to the artist for approval.

WHAT IS PROCESSED IN AUDIO MASTERING?

Both Center and side signal, left or right channel, can and will in Audio mastering often edited separately. The possibility of influencing the signal or sound of the music is therefore greater, which in turn leads to better and cleaner results that can be used when mixing erroneous use, e.g Compressor were caused. Interfering signals, unwanted noise, crackling and crackling, deessing, as well as dynamics and levels are optimized in different sequences in the editing process and unwanted ones are largely reduced. When audio mastering is always to consider between the reduction of interference frequencies and the preservation of the basic sound and dynamics within a song, sound, entire music or track. Therefore, handling the compressor or equalizer is particularly important and requires the greatest precision when mastering a track, because ultimately it should sound good in the end!

WHAT IS NEEDED FOR EDIT IN THE AUDIO MASTERING PROCESS?

For the processing of the material to be mastered, a DAW is first required to play the song. There is software specially developed for audio mastering, such as “Wavelab” from Steinberg. However, it is also possible to carry out an audio master in any DAW (e.g. Cubase, Logic or ProTools) and get missing functions using third-party plugins. But not only the right DAW is needed for editing. External hardware processors designed for mastering, e.g EQ or Compressor, ensure a well-rounded track sound and ideal processing of the raw material after mixing. A good selection of high-quality plugins are also used in the music master.

More factors like that studio acoustics, the right monitoring monitors, cabling or the choice of the right one mastering devices, are just as important in audio mastering as a good ear and the necessary genre experience of the material to be processed. So knowledge is also power when it comes to mastering frequencies.

How well the track or music can be edited in the master depends not only on the recording (Recording) but also on the quality of the sound in the mix. These are all part of the music production.

Audio mastering metering with Izotope audio mastering software

DOES ONLINE AUDIO MASTERING MAKE SENSE?

Thanks to digitization, more and more audio mastering studios are now offering their services online. The so-called "e-mastering"Or"Online mastering".

But does this really make sense? How was mastered in the past?

Before digitization, artists and bands searched for you with great difficulty Mastering studio where you personally participated in the mastering session.

Any changes to individual parts of the audio material or the songs of the musicians and artists could be directly examined, heard and the track judged good or bad.

A targeted implementation of the sound ideas of the individual songs was therefore no problem. Should changes in the mixing be necessary, everything could be initiated directly with the musicians, so that all the individual elements in the music production could run smoothly together.

Nowadays, this is solved using so-called "versions". After completing the online audio mastering, the artist gets his audio material back for assessment and has the opportunity to have corrections made to the master version by the mastering engineer by means of change requests.

AUDIO MASTERING FOR YOUR TRACK

Master your music, sound or track at one of Europe's best mastering studios!

AUDIO MASTERING – VEREDELUNG VON TONMATERIAL

Was ist Audio Mastering? Audio Mastering oder einfach nur Mastering genannt, ist der letzte Schritt in der post Production bzw. Audiobearbeitung bzw. Veredelung von Audiomaterial nach dem Abmischen Deiner Tracks. Ziel des Masterings von Audio Material ist es, ein ausgeglichenes Frequenzbild herzustellen, was auf vielene Wiedergabequellen möglichst gleich gut klingt. Zu Berücksichtigen sind hier einzelne Frequenzen, Dynamik, Lautheit und Energieverteilung im Mixdown. Auch eine Aufwertung des vorhandenen Tonmaterials ist oft, nach dem Mixing, erwünscht. So ist es in vielen Fällen nicht nur die Aufgabe des Mastering Engineers den Song im Studio möglichst kompatibel zu den verschiedenen Wiedergabegeräten zu machen, sondern auch Fehler im Mix weitestgehend zu reduzieren und ein gutes Stereo Bild zu schaffen.

In der Musikproduktion ist es gang und gebe, dass Mix bzw. das Abmischen und das Mastering getrennt werden und hierfür jeweils ein anders Tonstudio zum Einsatz kommt, welches speziell auf die Herausforderungen der einzelnen Teilbereiche, innerhalb der Musikproduktion, spezialisiert ist. So finden Sich auch immer mehr Anbieter für das s.g. Online Mixing.

WAS WIRD IM AUDIO MASTERING BEARBEITET?

Sowohl Mitten- als auch Seitensignal, linker oder rechter Kanal, können und werden im Audio mastering oft getrennt bearbeitet. Die Einflussmöglichkeit auf das Signal bzw. Sound der Musik ist somit größer, was wiederum zu besseren und sauberen Ergebnissen führt, die beim Abmischen durch fehlerhaften Einsatz z.B. durch Kompressor verursacht wurden. Störsignale, unerwünschtes Rauschen, Knacksen und Knistern, Deessing, sowie Dynamik und Pegel werden in unterschiedlicher Reihenfolge im Bearbeitungsprozess optimiert und unerwünschtes weitestgehend reduziert. Beim Audio Mastering ist immer abzuwägen zwischen der Reduktion von Störfrequenzen und der Erhaltung des Grundsounds und der Grunddynamik innerhalb eines Songs, Sounds, ganzer Musik oder Tracks.

WAS WIRD FÜR EINE BEARBEITUNG IM AUDIO MASTERING PROZESS BENÖTIGT?

Für die Bearbeitung des zu masternden Material wird erstmal eine DAW benötigt um den Song abzuspielen. Es gibt speziell für Audio Mastering entwickelte Software wie z.b. von Steinberg „Wavelab“. Allerdings ist es auch möglich in jeder DAW (z.b. Cubase, Logic oder ProTools) ein Audio Master durchzuführen und sich fehlende Funktionen mittels Drittanbieter Plugins dazu holt. Doch nicht nur die passende DAW ist für eine Bearbeitung von nöten. Externe, für Mastering angefertige Hardwareprozessoren wie z.B. EQ oder Kompressor, sorgen für einen runden Sound des Tracks und eine ideale Bearbeitung des Rohmaterials nach dem Abmischen. Auch eine gute Auswahl an hochwertigen Plugins kommen im Master von Musik zum Einsatz.

Weitere Faktoren wie die Studioakustik, die passenden Abhörmonitore, Verkabelung oder die Wahl der passenden Mastering Geräte, sind im Audio Mastering genauso wichtig wie ein gutes Gehör und die nötige Genre Erfahrung des zu bearbeitenden Materials. Wissen ist also auch Macht im mastern im Umgang mit Frequenzen.

Wie gut der Track oder die Musik im Master bearbeitet werden kann, hängt nicht nur von der Aufnahme (Recording) ab, sondern auch von der Qualität des Sounds im Mix (abmischen). Dies alles sind teile der Musikproduktion.

Audio Mastering Metering mit Izotope Audiomastering Software

MACHT ONLINE AUDIO MASTERING SINN?

Dank der Digitalisierung bieten nun immer mehr Audio Mastering Studios Ihre Dienstleistung online an. Das so genannte „eMastering“ oder „Online Mastering„.

Doch macht dies wirklich Sinn? Wie wurde früher gemastert?

Vor der Digitalisierung suchten sich mühevoll die Künstler und Bands Ihr Mastering Studio bei dem Sie persönlich in der Mastering Session teilnahmen.

Jegliche Veränderungen an einzlenen Teilen am Audiomaterial bzw. an den Songs der Musiker und Künstler konnte direkt begutacht, gehört und der Track für gut oder schlecht befunden werden.

Eine zielgerechte Umsetzung der Soundvorstellungen der einzelnen Songs war somit kein Problem. Sollten Änderungen im Mixing nötig sein, so konnte zusammen mit den Musikern alles direkt in die Wege geleitet werden, sodass alle einzelnen Elemente in der Musikproduktion reibungslos ineinander laufen konnten.

In der heutigen Zeit wird dies anhand s.g. „Versionen“ gelöst. Der Künstler bekommt nach Abschluss des online Audio Mastering sein Tonmaterial zur Begutachtung zurück und hat die Möglichkeit mittels Änderungswünsche Korrekturen an der Master Version des Mastering Engineers vornehmen zu lassen.

AUDIO MASTERING FÜR DEINEN TRACK

Mastere Deine Music, Sound oder Track bei einem von europas besten Mastering Studios!