STEMS IN MUSIC PRODUCTION

Stems are one Group of audio tracks in the Music production or in the mix, also called group tracks or subgroups. This outline is currently in the mastering process for the so-called Stem mastering advantageous and creates the possibility of more control over your music and mix. This enables an increase in the sound quality of the track and thus also improves your music production. be here Instrument tracks or Vocal tracks or Effect tracks to one Group merged  and exported separately. These are called stems. Vocal Stems, Backup Stems, Guitar Stems, Drum Stems, and Synthi Stems are useful. Also at Online mixing or Recording stems are beneficial. These facilitate the processing and grouping of instruments which are processed together.

The division into Group lanes or stems in the mix is ​​an advantage, as this edited and modified separately before they are then summarized as a sum in the master bus. Here can resonance frequencies to be pulled. Adjustments to the volume in the mix and the tone can be adjusted. All in all, you can achieve an even better optimized sound when mixing, mastering and recording. This leads to a significant increase in production and a higher productivity when mixing or mastering your songs.

It is common to split your track or song into 4-5 stems.

 

DIVISION OF STEMS IN MIXING AND MASTERING

  • Drum stems
  • kick stems
  • bass stems
  • Vocal / Vocal Stems
  • Synths or string stems
  • Guitars or Samples Stems
  • EFX stems

Of course you can too Merge more tracks into a stem. There are no limits to creativity when mixing your song production.

Even with recording, the division into stems is made easy and makes sense for your production or your track.

The only thing to note here is that the combination of individual tracks in the mix or when mixing to form a stem sensibly chosen should be. So it is an advantage if they have a similar sound. In this way, backing vocals or wind instruments, as well as Atmos tracks, can be combined in the song if you want to edit them together in the mix.

In order to enable good processing of the subgroups (stems) and thus your music, it is an advantage about 3db Headroom allow. This stands for professional processing, in the later mastering, with dynamic processors such as compressor, limiter, expander or dynamic EQ, in your song, nothing more in the way.

The group tracks should be delivered in at least 24 bits. Here the best possible quality in mastering achieved.

 

HOW DO I EXPORT STEMS FROM MY SONG?

There are often several ways to export stems from your song or track. After we have assembled our individual tracks into groups of stems, we can switch them to "solo" and as normal Stereo mixdown export. DAWs such as Cubase, Logic and co. a multichannel export, where it is also possible to export the previously created group tracks as stems.

DJS USE STEMS FOR THEIR TRACKS - DO YOU?

To produce their music, often in Tracktor by Native Instruments, DJs use a stem or multiple tracks for their mix. These group tracks are then used for remixes in which a sample is supplemented with different tracks. With the help of a midi controller, certain effects or modulations for your tracks are controlled. DJs' remixes are often referred to as features because of the remixing producer collaborating with the original artist. Once he has processed all tracks, the finished song is exported from the DAW. This happens either as a stereo file or as individual tracks. The aim is to create a master from this, which is suitable for uploading to the streaming portals. As a rule, an external mastering studio is booked for the mastering.

The already successful number should be successful again.

The finished remix is ​​also sent to music labels for evaluation at the same time, with the hope that they will take over the online distribution and/or contribute to the production costs of the tracks.

YOUR STEMS ARE IN GOOD HANDS WITH US!

We master your stems with an analog sound character.

STEMS IN DER MUSIKPRODUKTION

Unter Stems versteht man eine Gruppe von Audio Spuren in der Musikproduktion bzw. im Mix, auch Gruppenspuren oder Subgruppen genannt. Diese Gliederung ist gerade im Masteringprozess für das so genannte Stem-Mastering von Vorteil. Dies ermöglicht eine Steigerung der Sound Qaulität und verbessert somit auch Deine Music Production. Hierbei werden Instrumenten-Spuren oder Vocal-Spuren bzw. Effekt-Spuren zu einer Gruppe zusammengefügt und separat exportiert. Dies sind s.g. Stems. Sinnvoll sind unter anderem Vocals, Backup, Gitarren, Drum Stems und Synthi. Auch beim Online Mixing sind Stems von Vorteil. Diese erleichtern die Bearbeitung und die Gruppierung von Instrumenten, welche zusammengefasst bearbeitet werden.

Die Aufteilung in Gruppenspuren oder Stems im Mix ist in sofern von Vorteil, da diese separat bearbeitet und modifiziert werden bevor Sie dann als Summe in den Master-Bus zusammengefasst werden. Hierbei können Resonanz-Freuquen gezogen werden. Anpassungen an der Lautstärke und am Sound können adjustiert werden. Alles im Allem erreicht man hierdurch einen noch besser optimierten Sound im Mix. Dieser führt zu einer erheblichen Steigerung der Produktion.

Songs werden in der Regel in 4-5 Spuren aufgeteilt.

MÖGLICHE AUFTEILUNG VON STEMS

  • Drum Stems
  • Vocal / Vocals Stems
  • Synthis oder Streicher Stems
  • Gitarren oder Samples Stems
  • EFX Stems

Natürlich kann man auch weitere Spuren zu einem Stem zusammenführen. Der Kreativität Deiner Production ist hier keine Grenze gesetzt. Es gilt hierbei nur zu beachten, dass die Zusammenfassung einzelner Spuren im Mix zu einem Stem sinnvoll gewählt werden sollte. So sollten diese ähnlich im Sound sein. So können backing Vocals, oder Blasinstrumente, genauso wie Atmos Spuren zusammengefasst werden, sofern man diese zusammen im Mix bearbeiten möchte.

Um eine gute Bearbeitung der Subgruppen und somit Deiner Musik zu ermöglichen, ist es von Vorteil ca. 3db Headroom zu lassen. Somit steht einer professionellen Bearbeitung mit Dynamik-prozessoren wie Kompressor, Limiter, Expander oder dynamischer EQ nichts mehr im Wege. Die Anlieferung der Gruppenspuren sollte in mindestens 24 bit passieren. Hier wird die bestmögliche Qualität im Mastering erzielt.

DJS VERWENDEN STEMS FÜR IHRE TRACKS – DU AUCH?

Zum produzieren ihrer Musik, oft in Tracktor von Native Instruments, verwenden DJs eine Stem oder mehrere Spuren. Diese Gruppenspuren werden dann für Remixes verwendet bei dem ein Sample mit verschiedenen Spuren ergänzt wird. Mit Hilfe von einem Midi-Controller werden bestimmte Effekte oder Modulationen angesteuert. Die Remixe werden oft als Features bezeichnet, da der remixende Produzent, der mit dem ursprünglichen Künstler zusammenarbeitet. Hat er alle Spuren bearbeitet, wird der fertige Song aus der DAW exportiert. Dies geschieht entweder als Stereo-Datei, oder als Einzelspuren. Zielt ist es, hiervon ein Master zu erstellen, welches für den Upload auf den Streaming-Portalen geeignet ist.

Der bereits erfolgreiche Nummer, soll erneut erfolgreich werden.

Der fertige Remix wird zeitgleich auch zur Bewertung an Musik-Labels geschickt, mit der Hoffnung, dass diese den online Vertrieb übernehmen und/oder sich an den Produktionskosten beteiligen.

DEINE STEMS SIND BEI UNS IN GUTEN HÄNDEN!

Wir mastern Deine Stems mit analogem Klangcharakter.