MASTERING

MUSIC MASTERING FOR YOUR TRACKS

Competent partner

Mastering since 2006 with analogue hi-end outboard and impeccable acoustics, we master and restore your song!

Internationally represented

Mastering in over 50 countries and well over 30.000 productions, as well as multiple chart positions.

Top customer service

Our mastering engineers are personally available to advise you on all important mastering questions.

mastering (Audio mastering or e-mastering) is the last point in the processing chain after recording and mixing (Mixingin the recording studio before the audio material or track is released as a master or online mastering, or the tracks go to the pressing plant for further processing.

Of course we also take on other projects Online mastering and guarantee the highest analog sound quality with top customer service and personal advice.

MASTERING FAQ FOR ONLINE AUDIO MASTERING

Mastering or online mastering is primarily a refinement of the mix of a song in which an attempt is made to get the sound of the track as good as possible on everyone possible interception conditions (such as the radio, hi-fi system, smartphone, or streaming platforms). The track frequency responseMono compatibility  and dynamics taken into account. The aim of online mastering should be that the track, tonally, follows the result Mixing of the title.

  • Brainstorming,
  • Composing, producing, recording,
  • Mixing or mixing,
  • Master or mastering.

 

As a last step In the processing chain, special attention must be paid to the audio master in the recording studio. Mastering Engineer is a profession and by no means a hobby. In addition to understanding technical measuring instruments, spatial conditions must also be certain Meet specifications and standards to be able to master there professionally at all. Even the monitoring path has to be checked and adjusted to special DIN standards.

AS PERSONAL COLLABORATION IS OFTEN DIFFICULT TO IMPLEMENT DUE TO THE DISTANCE, WE ALSO OFFER OUR MASTERING AS SG EMASTERING OR ONLINE MASTERING YEAR.

In the master process, the Mastering engineer usually a mix of the track is delivered as a stereo file, which is then transferred to his DAW (Digital audio workstation) pulls. Here he gets one first Overview of the sound, as well as the technical and musical condition of the song.

After the first assessment of the audio material, this freed from technical errors and unwanted frequencies to follow the Dynamic reduction, if necessary, to be carried out in order to arrive at a competitive loudness.

After the dynamics have been adjusted, the material is subjected to musical mastering, which ensures that subjective perceptions of individual elements or passages get their own sound character. This can be done with tube devices or other special hardware. "Saturation“Is for example one of the different stylistic devices around a musical mastering carried out.

The aim of audio mastering is to "upgrade" the track with the help of dynamic processors, equalizers, filters or psychoacoustic devices in such a way that it sounds "good" on as many playback sources as possible (e.g. stereo system, headphones, etc.). So the sound stays the same as possible.

When mastering or in Audio mastering process the emphasis is on a tonally balanced Frequency image, good Mono compatibility and a balanced stereo image in the track. Depending on the need, the level can be adjusted, jitter removed or fades can be set.

  • Stereo mastering (editing a Stereo mixes)
  • Stem mastering (Processing of sub-groups e.g. drums, vocals, guitars)
  • M / S Mastering (processing of In the middle-  and Side signal separated from each other. This takes place in a so-called. M / S matrix instead of.)
  • Streaming mastering (Specially made for streaming services)
  • Vinyl mastering (Mastering with special specifications for vinyl production)
  • DDP mastering (Creation of a DDP image for delivery to the press shop)
  • Reference mastering (professional version adapted to the genre and frequency response of a reference track)
  • Emastered (This is how traditional online mastering is called)
  • AI mastering (mastering through artificial intelligence. Providers such as Landr, Emastered or similar use algorithms and presets)
Mastering is the last creative instance of the audio post-production before the song is distributed.

DIGITAL CONNECTION MASTERING

With increasing digitization and greater acceptance of streaming portals such as Spotify, ITunes, Amazon Music and co. they change too Requirements for audio material.

Due to a wide variety of end devices and internet speeds, the streaming portals convert the audio into a wide variety of output formats. This is done to enable the listener to always have a smooth audio playback and good sound. Through this Conversion often changes the frequency response of a piece. In online mastering, these conversion-side changes to the audio quality of the song are reduced to a minimum.

FORMAT CONFLICTS IN MASTERING

MP3's are more and more part of our everyday life. Unfortunately with compromises in terms of quality, due to the high compression and the calculation of Frequency information. This makes an MP3 particularly small, in contrast to the Wave.

MONO COMPATIBILITY IN MASTERING

Another aspect is the mono compatibility, which is particularly important if the listener is listening to the mix or the master with a smartphone or other playback device with only one loudspeaker. If too little attention was paid to mono compatibility when mixing, half the song is dropped. Especially with drums or the kick drum, insufficient mono compatibility can lead to high losses in audio quality and ruin the whole song.

In our mastering studio in Würzburg, we are able to switch a wide variety of audio codecs, which are used for conversion into different file formats, into our listening path in order to make changes to the frequency image and the tonality to be determined and corrected if necessary.

The following applies to a good sound of your music:

Mixing is primarily responsible for a balanced sound of your song. Thoughts like “we'll fix it in mastering” or “the mastering engineer will save it” are completely wrong starting points.

This is done with the help of analysis tools, metering and his hearing z. A broad knowledge is already required here in order to correctly assess the audio. The song is then processed with various processors such as compressor, EQ, deesser or other hardware or software. As a result, the sound material will have a frequency response that is as balanced as possible.

Also errors like digital clicks, unwanted ones sough or over-compression can be reduced or completely eliminated. The sound is then brought into the desired output format. Usually this is 16 bit wave with 44,1 kHz sample rate. This is common for CD production. A 24-bit wave is usually used when streaming music. We tell you how a master or emastered works in detail in our mastering blog.

After mixing, a distinction is made between two types of mastering. For one thing technical mastering (Creation of the Glassmasters for CDs, die for vinyl records), on the other hand that musical- and I baked the premastering (Track editing of the mixdowns and preparation for the techn. Mastering).

At the end of every song production, the question arises again and again: "How loud to master?"

In short: So loud that your song still sounds good!

A few years ago, the loudness of a track was crucial to be competitive with other tracks in the same genre.

Only really good mixes succeeded here, loud yet transparent to be. But a lot has happened in the area of ​​track loudness in recent years. the Streaming provider have introduced a general loudness normalization that makes it possible to focus on the quality of the production rather than on the loudness during mastering.

So it's no longer "how loud do I have to master" that counts, but rather "how good the track should sound after mastering".

The quality of your track should be competitive with other titles in your genre. It's not about individual details like eg a snare drum sounds, but rather how the overall frequency response behaves within the title. Today there are countless streaming providers and ways to make your track heard. In this respect, the tuning of the frequency response and the sound on the most diverse playback media and streaming portals become essential. So today it is no longer important how loud the mastering is, but how good it is.

The quality of the master is therefore decisive as to whether your track is assertive and therefore competitive with all other titles from your genre.

"What are the best mastering plugins?" That's what we're often asked for in our Mastering Lessons asked.

So, are there the ultimate mastering plugins?

No! Each song is different in its frequency response, arrangement, harmonies played and its Mix.

Different manufacturers build different types of plugins; whose sound often differs completely or in individual areas from other manufacturers.

Which plugins do you need for mastering?

Basically, it is advisable to use the following plugins in mastering:

– Equalizers

– compressor

– limiters

– Stereo enhancer (optional)

– Maximizer (optional)

- Reverb (optional)

You don't need more for a good and high-quality mastering on the plugin side. Much more weight is that Raumakustik and the waste situation, since decisions have to be made in mastering that should work independently of the room and the listening medium.

It is advisable to focus less on different plugins at first, but instead on the individual properties of the plugins you are currently using. Here we recommend comparing different equalizers or compressors with the same settings in order to find the right plugin with the required timbre or neutrality for the respective track.

There are titles that have a mastering plugin that works with one setting and that proves to be unfavorable for another title. So can the use of one tube compressor might be just the right plugin for mastering on an electronic title that lacks warmth, but proved counterproductive on a rock title that might just need a little more transparency and airiness.

MASTERING IS ONE OF THE FINAL FINISHES WITHIN SONG PRODUCTION. HERE WE WANT THE SONG TO GAIN IN LOUDNESS, SOUND AS BALANCED AS POSSIBLE AND NOT TO CHANGE THE CHARACTERISTICS OF THE ACTUAL MIX TOO MUCH. DOING ALL THIS IS NOT SO EASY!

Now for the mastering tips

So that your mastering is good, we give you 10 tips that will make your masters sound better.

  1. FADES, FADES AND FADES!

You should always use fades when mastering. Always at the beginning and end of the song in order to avoid any cracks, which are perceived as extremely annoying. As a guideline, you can assume 4 - 6ms here and set fade-ins & fade-outs.

  1. AT LEAST 24 BIT!

The mastering in the DAW session should be at least 24Bit or higher. 24 bit has a dynamic of 144dB - 1 bit therefore represents 6dB dynamic. It is important here that the recordings and the mix were of course also made with at least 24 bits - so we achieve more detailed results and, in total, achieve more loudness.

  1. FIRST QUIET, THEN LOUD!

Quiet listening not only protects your ears, but also doesn't stimulate your room so much, which is why you have to struggle less with parts of the room when listening. In this way you can better assess the density but also the transparency within the material at hand.

As soon as you are done with the master, you should turn up your monitors loudly. Here you can notice striking frequencies that do not come into their own when listening quietly. As soon as we turn the master loud, you will also quickly notice whether the volume levels have changed significantly.

  1. TURN THE MOTOWN TRICK OR PARALLEL COMPRESSION ON!

With the help of parallel compression, you can mix a highly compressed version with the original. This way you will not lose the transparency and dynamics of your mix.

For example, the main track is copied and then compressed very heavily. You then slowly turn up the copied track until it, together with the main track, results in a great sound. The total sum sounds more present, full and fat! An emulation of the 1176, for example, is suitable as a plug-in

  1. BUT PLEASE DO NOT “TOO MUCH COMPRESSION”!

You should use the Master Compressor with care! As a rule, we only pick up signal peaks here. With too much compression, the dynamic range suffers enormously and the song loses its liveliness.

So make sure that the gain reduction does not fall below -3db, use longer attack times, but shorter release times. In addition, a sidechain filter up to 250 Hz is suitable in order not to additionally stimulate the compressor with a kick drum or a sub-bass.

  1. AUTOMATIONS - NOT ONLY FOR PROFESSIONALS!

Use automation for intros, outros or bridges, for example. As a rule, we often have quiet passages, which we have to adjust via automation, as these are not tackled by the compressor. That's a good thing because if we were to set the compressor accordingly so that it also picks up the quiet passages, the loud passages would be undynamic and heavily compressed.

So it's best to use automation to adjust the quiet parts before you readjust the compressor!

  1. MOM'S KITCHEN RADIO AND MORE!

To assess the master, it is always good to use a wide variety of listening options and to put the master through its paces. First and foremost, you do this with your studio monitors! But don't forget that normal music listeners can hear through conventional systems such as a kitchen radio, in the car or on a Bluetooth box. Accordingly, you should also check on such systems whether the master asserts itself here.

  1. AVOID OVERLOADED PLUGINS!

Due to the 24-bit architecture, which is now available to us, we basically have all kinds of options to maintain our dynamic range and still get a song very loud. Avoid any clipping in plug-ins - there are enough ways to get a song loud without it being dragged.

  1. PREPARATION OF THE BOUNCE PROCESS!

When using plug-ins, your computer needs a lot of computing power, especially when you are in the bounce process. Put your start marker a little bit in front of the actual song, this will prevent any problems caused by your computer calculating the plug-ins too late.

  1. A / B COMPARISON USING REFERENCES!

You certainly have a sonic role model in front of you, which shines with a great mix and a great master. Use this and compare your master with other productions and pay attention to inherent characteristics such as presence, bass range, etc.

An A / B comparison lets you work more objectively and you don't lose sight of your goal so quickly. Tone to change this text. Important here: Measure the loudness of both titles and match them to each other in order to be able to compare them objectively.

OUR MASTERING CUSTOMERS

Heiko Groß about online mastering
Heiko Gross music
5/5
Very nice contact, excellent work. Perfect implementation! Any time! Fast and reliable
Daniel Abanico about online mastering from Peak Studios
Daniel Abanico (Dnl_abanico)
5/5

We gave our album here for mastering without a doubt and are 100% satisfied! Super communication and our music was not only processed, but also understood musically.

Okke Gingersen review of Mix Analysis
Ok gingersen
5/5

Great work! First received a detailed analysis of my mix and at the end a good-sounding master. Very friendly communication and really quick response. It was a pleasure!

MASTERING

MUSIK MASTERING FÜR DEINE TRACKS

Kompetenter Partner

Mastering seit 2006 mit analogem Hi-End Outboard und tadeloser Akustik mastern und restaurieren wir Deinen Song!

International verteten

Mastering in über 50 Ländern und weit über 30.000 Produktionen, sowie mehrfachen Chart-Platzierungen.

Top Kundenservice

Unsere Mastering Engineers stehen Dir persönlich bereit und beraten Dich zu allen wichtigen Mastering Fragen.

Mastering (Audio-Mastering oder eMastering) ist der letzte Punkt in der Bearbeitungskette nach dem Recording und Abmischen (Mixingim Tonstudio, bevor das Audiomaterial bzw. der Track veröffentlicht wird, oder die Tracks zur Weiterverarbeitung ins Presswerk gehen.

Selbstverständlich nehmen wir auch andere Projekte und Aufnahmen für ein Online Mastering an und garantieren höchste analoge Soundqualität im Klang mit top Kundenservice und persönlicher Beratung durch unseren Engnieer.

WAS IST MASTERING?

Mastering ist in erster Linie eine Veredelung vom Mix eines Songs bei dem der Engineer versucht, im Mastering Studio, den Sound des Tracks möglichst gut auf alle möglichen Abhörbedingungen (wie z. B. dem Radio, Hifi-Anlage, Smartphone, oder Streaming-Plattformen) darzustellen. Dabei werden vom Track FrequenzgangMonokompatibilität und Dynamik berücksichtigt. Ziel im Mastering sollte sein, dass der Track, tonal sich dem Ergebnis nach dem Abmischen des Titels gleicht, sowie das Einhalten von technischen Spezifikationen für die Veröffentlichung von Musik und Aufnahmen. Es kann auch dazu beitragen, den Klang verschiedener Songs auf einem Album homogen zu gestalten.

ZIEL DES MASTERINGS?

Ziel ist es, den Track bzw. die Aufnahme der Musik mithilfe von Dynamik-prozessoren, Equalizern, Filtern oder psychoakustischen Geräten so „aufzuwerten“, dass dies auf möglichst vielen Wiedergabequellen (z.B. Stereoanlage, Kopfhörer etc.) gleich „gut“ klingt. Der Sound und Klang  also möglichst gleich bleibt.

Beim mastern bzw. im Audio-Mastering-Prozess liegen die Schwerpunkte auf einem klanglich ausgeglichenem Frequenzbild, guter Mono-Kompatibilität und einem ausgewogenem Stereobild im Track. Je nach Notwendigkeit kann  auch eine Pegelanpassung, Beseitigung von Jitter oder das Setzen von Fade’s vorgenommen werden.

SICHERE DIR JETZT DEIN ANALOGES MASTERING

MASTERING FAQ FÜR ONLINE AUDIO MASTERING

  • Ideenfindung,
  • Composing, Producing, Recording, Aufnahme
  • Mixdown,
  • Master bzw. Mastering.

Als letzter Schritt in der Bearbeitungskette ist dem Audio Master im Studio besondere Beachtung zu schenken. Mastering-Engineer ist ein Beruf und keinesfalls ein Hobby. Neben dem Verstehen von technischen Messinstrumenten, müssen auch räumliche Bedigungen gewissen Vorgaben und Standards erfüllen um dort überhaupt professionell mastern zu können. Selbst der Abhörweg ist auf spezielle Din-Normen zu prüfen und einzustellen, so dass der Engineer im Studio mit seiner Technik den besten Klang für die Audio Aufnahme der Musik herausholen kann. Als Engineer benötigt man also ein breites Wissen an Akustik, Physik und ein gutes technisches Verständnis.

Im Master-Prozess bekommt der Masteringengineer in der Regel einen Mix des Tracks als Stereo-File überliefert, welches er in seine DAW (Digital-Audio-Workstation) zieht. Hierbei verschafft er sich erstmal einen Überblick über den Sound, sowie den technischen- und musikalischen-Zustand des Songs.

Nach der ersten Begutachtung des Audio Materials, wird dieses von technischen Fehler und ungewollten Frequenzen (z.B. durch die Aufnahme) befreit um im Anschluss die Dynamikreduktion, sofern nötig, durchzuführen, um auf eine konkurenzfähige Lautheit zu kommen.

Nachddem die Dynamik angepasst wurde, wird das Material dem musikalischen Mastering unterzogen, welches dafür sorgt, dass subjektive Wahrnehmungen einzelner Elemente oder passagen Ihren eigenen Klangcharakter bekommen. Dies kann mit Röhrengeräten oder anderer spezieller Hardware erfolgen. „Saturation“ ist z.B. eines verschiedener Stilmittel um ein musikalisches Mastering durchzuführen.

  • Stereo Mastering (Bearbeitung eines Stereo Mixes)
  • Stem Mastering (Bearbeitung von Sub-gruppen z.B. Drums, Vocals, Gitarren)
  • M/S Mastering (Bearbeitung von Mitten- und Seitensignal voneinander getrennt. Dies findet in einer sog. M/S Matrix statt.)
  • Streaming Mastering (Speziell für Streaming Dienste angefertigt)
  • Vinyl Mastering (Mastering mit speziellen Spezifikationen für die Vinyl-Herstellung)
  • DDP Mastering (Erstellung eines DDP-Images für die Anlieferung ans Presswerk)
  • Referenz-Mastering (Professionelle angeglichene Version an Genre und Frequenzgang eines Referenz Tracks)
  • Emastered (So wird das herkömmliche Online-Mastering bezeichnet)
  • AI Mastering (Mastering durch künstliche Intelligenz. Anbieter wie Landr, Emastered o. ä. verwendet Algorythmen und Presets)

Mastering ist somit die letzte kreative Instanz der Audio-Post-produktion bevor der Song vertrieben wird.

DIGITALER ZUSAMMENHANG MASTERING

Mit zunehmender Digitalisierung und größerer Akzeptanz von Streaming-Portalen wie Spotify, ITunes, Amazon Music und co. ändern sich auch die Voraussetzungen für Audiomaterial.

Aufgrund verschiedenster Endgeräte und Internetgeschwindigkeiten konvertieren die Streaming Portale das Audio in verschiedensten Ausgangsformate. Dies passiert um den Hörer immer eine ruckelfreie Audio-Wiedergabe und guten Sound zu ermöglichen. Durch diese Konvertierung ändert sich oftmals der Frequenzgang eines Stückes. Im online Mastering werden diese konvertierungsseitigen Änderungen der Audioqualität des Songs auf ein Minimum reduziert.

MONO-KOMPATIBILITÄT IM MASTERING

Ein weiterer Aspekt ist die Monokompatibilität, die besonders entscheidend ist, wenn der Hörer den Mix bzw. das Master mit einem Smartphone oder einem anderen Abspielgerät mit nur einem Lautsprecher anhört. Ist zu wenig auf Monokompatibilität beim Abmischen geachtet worden, so fällt der halbe Song weg. Gerade beim Schlagzeug bzw. der Kickdrum, kann eine nicht ausreichene Monokompatibilität zu hohen Verlusten der Audioqualität führen und den ganzen Song kaputt machen.

In unserem Würzburger Masteringstudio ist es uns möglich, verschiedenste Audio-Codecs, die zur Konvertierung in verschiedene Fileformate verwendet werden, in unseren Abhörweg zu schalten, um somit in Echtzeit Änderungen am Frequenzbild und der Tonalität zu ermitteln und ggf. zu korrigieren.

Für einen guten Sound Deiner Musik gilt grundsätzlich:

Für einen ausgewogenen Sound deines Songs, ist in erster Linie der Mixdown (Abmischen) verantwortlich. Gedanken wie „wir beheben das im Mastering“, oder „der Mastering Engineer wird das schon retten“ sind völlig falsche Ansatzpunkte.

Dies geschieht mit Hilfe von Analysetools, Metering und seinem Gehör z. Bereits hier ist ein Breites Wissen erforderlich um das Audio richtig zu beurteilen. Im Anschluss wird der Song mit verschiedenen Prozessoren wie Kompressor, EQ, Deesser oder anderer Hard- oder Software so bearbeitet. Dadurch wird das Tonmaterial einen möglichst ausgeglichenen Frequenzgang aufweisen.

Auch Fehler wie digitale Klicks, unerwünschtes Rauschen oder Überkompression können hierbei reduziert oder komplett beseitigt werden. Im Anschluss wird der Sound ins gewünschte Ausgangsformat gebracht. In der Regel ist dies 16 bit Wave mit 44,1 khz Samplerate. Dies ist für die CD Produktion üblich. Im Streaming von Musik wird in aller Regel eine 24 bit Wave verwendet. Wie ein Master bzw. emastered im Detail funktioniert, erzählen wir Euch in unserem Mastering-Blog.

Nach dem Abmischen unterscheidet man zwischen zwei Arten beim mastern. Zum einen das technische Mastering (Erstellung des Glasmasters durch den Engineer, für CDs, Matrize für Vinylschallplatten), zum anderen das musikalische- und das Premastering (Track Bearbeitung des Mixdowns und Vorbereitung für das techn. Mastering).

Am Ende jeder Song Produktion stellt sich immer wieder die Frage: „Wie laut mastern?

Kurz gesagt: So laut dass Dein der Song noch gut klingt!

Vor wenigen Jahren war die Lautheit eines Titels entscheidend um konkurrenzfähig zu sein im Vergleich mit anderen Titeln aus demselben Genre.

Hier gelang es nur wirklich guten Mixen, laut und dennoch transparent zu sein. Doch seit einigen Jahren hat sich im Bereich der Lautheit eines Tracks einiges getan. Die Streaming-Anbieter haben eine generelle Lautheit Normalisierung eingeführt, die es möglich macht den Fokus nicht mehr auf die Lautheit zu legen, sondern auf die Qualität der Produktion.

Es zählt hier also nicht mehr „wie laut muss ich mastern“, sondern vielmehr „wie gut sollte der Track nach dem Mastering klingen“.

Es ist auch wichtig zu beachten, dass die Lautstärke beim Mastering nicht das Gleiche wie die maximale Lautstärke ist. Die maximale Lautstärke ist der höchste Wert, den eine Audiodatei erreichen kann, ohne dass Verzerrungen auftreten. Die Lautstärke beim Mastering sollte jedoch unterhalb der maximalen Lautstärke liegen, um sicherzustellen, dass die Musik gut klingt und dass Verzerrungen vermieden werden.

Die Qualität deines Tracks sollte konkurrenzfähig zu anderen Titeln aus Deinem Genre sein. Hier geht es nicht um einzelne Details wie z.B eine Snare Drum klingt, sondern vielmehr wie sich der gesamte Frequenzgang innerhalb des Titels verhält. Es gibt heute unzählige Streaming-Anbieter und Möglichkeiten seinem Track Gehör zu verschaffen. Insofern ist die Abstimmung des Frequenzgangs und der Klang auf den unterschiedlichsten wiedergabemedien und Streamingportalen essenziell geworden. Heute ist also nicht mehr entscheidend wie laut gemastert wird, sondern wie gut.

Die Qualität des Masters ist somit entscheidend, ob Dein Track durchsetzungsfähig ist und somit konkurrenzfähig zu allen anderen Titeln aus Deinem Genre.

Die Akustik im Mastering Studio ist von großer Bedeutung, da sie direkten Einfluss auf die Qualität der von einem Mastering-Ingenieur erstellten Master-Dateien hat. Eine gute Akustik im Studio kann dazu beitragen, dass die Musik gut klingt und sich gut anhört, wenn sie auf verschiedenen Plattformen und Lautsprechersystemen wiedergegeben wird.

Eine schlechte Akustik im Studio kann dazu führen, dass die Musik unnatürlich klingt und dass bestimmte Frequenzen über- oder unterbetont werden. Es kann auch dazu führen, dass der Mastering-Ingenieur Fehler bei der Bearbeitung der Audiodateien macht, da er sich auf ein unzuverlässiges Klangbild verlassen muss.

Daher ist es wichtig, dass das Mastering Studio über eine gute Akustik verfügt, um sicherzustellen, dass der Mastering-Prozess erfolgreich ist und das Endergebnis den Qualitätsstandards entspricht.

„Was sind die besten Mastering Plugins?“ So werden wir häufig nach Empfehlungen in unserem Mastering Unterricht gefragt.

Gibt es also die ultimativen Plugins fürs Mastering?

Nein! Jeder Song ist unterschiedlich in seinem Frequenzgang, Arrangement, gespielten Harmonien und seinem Mix.

Unterschiedliche Hersteller bauen unterschiedliche Arten von Plugins; deren klangweise sich oft gänzlich oder in einzelnen Teilbereichen von anderen Herstellern unterscheidet.

Welche Plugins benötigt man fürs Mastering?

Grundsätzlich ist es ratsam folgende Plugins im Studio zu verwenden:

– Equalizer

– Kompressor

– Limiter

– Stereo Enhancer (optional)

– Maximizer (optional)

– Reverb (optional)

Mehr benötigt man für ein gutes und hochwertiges Mastering auf Plugin-Seite nicht. Viel mehr Gewichtung ist der Raumakustik und der Abfhörsituation im Studio zu widmen, da hier vom Engineer Entscheidungen getroffen werden müssen die unabhängig von Raum und Abhörmedium funktionieren sollten.

Es ist ratsam sich erstmal weniger verschiedenen Plugins zu widmen, sondern stattdessen den einzelnen Eigenschaften derer Plugins die man aktuell verwendet. Hier empfehlen wir unterschiedliche Equalizer oder Kompressoren in gleichen Einstellungen miteinander zu vergleichen, um für den jeweiligen Track, das richtige Plugin mit der benötigten Klangfarbe oder Neutralität zu finden. Dies erfordert ein breites Wissen im Bearbeiten von Musik.

Es gibt Titel bei denen hat das eine Plugin, mit der einen Einstellung funktioniert und bei einem anderen Titel erweist sich dieses als ungünstig im Einsatz. So kann der Einsatz eines Röhrenkompressors bei einem Titel im elektronischen Bereich dem es an Wärme fehlt genau das richtige Plugin sein, jedoch bei einem Rocktitel der vielleicht nur ein wenig mehr Transparenz und Luftigkeit benötigt, sich als kontraproduktiv erwiesen.

UNSERE MASTERING KUNDEN

Conny Conrad
5/5
Mit Chris arbeite ich schon seit Jahren zusammen. Sein Mastering zeichnet sich im Gegensatz zu anderen Masteringstudios dadurch aus, dass er die Stimmung und den Musikstil der Tracks empfindet und nicht den Schwerpunkt auf Extremdröhnung im Loudness-War setzt. Sein empfindsames Mixing und Mastering finden sich selten auf diesem Planeten!
Marco Matic
5/5

Top Mix- und Mastering Studio! der Chef Chris ist super freundlich und ging auf alle meine Sonderwünsche ein…super Ergebnis. kann ich jedem nur empfehlen…egal welches Musikgenre!

Frank Rest
5/5
Klasse Arbeit innerhalb weniger Zeit. Schnelle Reaktionszeit in der Kommunikation, umgehende Hilfe bei Fragen. Klasse Audio-Mastering, Super fairer Preis. Beim nächsten Projekt gerne wieder. Alles Reibungslos! Vielen Dank Chris!