MASTERING ENGINEER - ALL INFORMATION AT A GLANCE

The mastering engineer is the last important authority in audio production. Audio mastering is not just a hobby, it is a profession where working on the song in the studio is not just about using plug-ins like ozone to push the sound against the wall. In the following section we want to provide an overview of the activities.

What does a mastering engineer do?

  • The mastering engineer works in a professionally set up hybrid environment with both analog and digital equipment, accurately measured acoustics and listening monitors that have a frequency response that is as linear as possible.

    Only when these points are correct is the audio engineer actually able to mastering to manufacture. Previously we would refer to this as sum editing.

  • The mastering engineer (or similar mastering engineer) usually works on the finished file mix down a music production or is working on Stems. The changes made are usually minimal, since the character of the song is already determined in the mixing, by the mixing engineer and the artist.
  • The mastering engineer is the last link in production. It improves the basic quality of the title, processes entire albums for duplication or creates DDP images, That too Mastering for streaming platforms plays an important role here, as the proportion of songs made available online continues to increase.
  • The mastering engineer also gives feedback to the mixing engineer, should it Mistakes in the mix exist, which cannot be corrected in the mastering.

The mastering represents the final touch, so to speak. Here the title is prepared for the pressing plant or the radio and for streaming portals. The goal of the audio mastering engineer is a title that sounds balanced on every playback medium.

More and more mastering engineers are also offering one Online mastering on. The advantage for the artist is obvious here. He no longer has to drive to a nearby studio or travel long distances for his Masters.

How do you become a mastering engineer?

At best, a mastering engineer has years of experience in sound engineering and music production and has proven himself to be a mixing engineer over time. Anyone who knows the problems and characteristics in mixing and has a trained ear is also ready to prepare a master. We also look back on over 20 years of experience in the music industry!

DO YOU WANT TO LEARN MASTERING?

With our custom-made mastering lessons, we pick you up at your level of knowledge and teach you everything important about mastering.

Mixing engineer, audio engineer, mastering engineer - what are the differences?

The term audio engineer is mostly used as a generic term for professional work on audio or sound material. The range of activities within a music production is so gigantic that it is worth breaking down the whole thing a little further here.

Mixing and mastering Engineers go hand in hand to arrive at the ideal sound of the song together.

The mixing engineer primarily deals with the mixing ratio of the individual instruments, creates a tonal balance within the song and thus ensures a pleasant mix.

Ideally, the mastering engineer upgrades the previous steps of the "mixer" with his work, eliminates slight inconsistencies within the frequency response and prepares the audio material both musically and technically so that it reaches a professional level and can compete with other productions can.

MASTERING ENGINEER – ALLE INFOS IM ÜBERBLICK

Der Mastering Engineer, ist die letzte wichtige Instanz in der Audio Production. Audio Mastering ist nicht nur ein Hobby, es ist ein Beruf, bei dem die Arbeit am Song im Studio, nicht nur darin besteht, mit Plugins wie Ozon den Sound einfach nur gegen die Wand zu fahren. Im folgenden Abschnitt wollen wir einen Überblick über die Tätigkeiten schaffen.

Was macht ein Mastering Engineer?

  • Der Mastering Engineer arbeitet in einer professionell aufgestellten Hybridumgebung mit analogen aber auch digitalen Equipment, Akurrat eingemessener Akustik und Abhörmonitore die einen möglichst linearen Frequenzgang aufweisen.

    Erst wenn diese Punkte stimmen, ist der Audio Engineer tatsächlich in der Lage ein Mastering zu fertigen. Vorher würden wir das als Summenbearbeitung bezeichnen.

  • Der Mastering-Engineer (o.a. Masteringingenieur) bearbeitet in der Regel den fertigen Mixdown einer Musikproduktion oder arbeitet an Stems. Die vorgenommenen Änderungen sind meist minimal, da der Charakter des Songs bereits im Mixing, vom Mixing Engineer und dem Künstler, bestimmt wird.
  • Der Mastering Engineer ist das letzte Glied in der Produktion. Er verbessert die Grundlegende Qualität des Titels, bearbeitet ganze Alben bis zur Vervielfältigung oder erstellt DDP Images. Auch das Mastering für Streaming Plattformen spielt hier eine wichtige Rolle, da der online zur Verfügung gestellte Anteil an Songs immer weiter zunimmt.
  • Der Mastering Engineer gibt auch Rückmeldung an den Mixing Engineer, sollte es Fehler im Mix geben, welche im Mastering nicht korrigiert werden können.

Das Mastering stellt sozusagen den Feinschliff dar. Hier wird der Titel für das Presswerk oder auch das Radio und für Streaming Portale vorbereitet. Das Ziel des Audio Engineer, ist ein Titel, welcher auf jedem Abspielmedium ausgewogen klingt.

Wie wird man Mastering Engineer?

Ein Mastering Engineer besitzt im besten Fall Jahrelange Erfahrung in der Tontechnik und Musikproduktion und hat sich über die Zeit als Mixing Engineer bewiesen. Wer die Probleme und Merkmale im Mixing kennt und ein geschultes Ohr hat, ist auch bereit dazu ein Master anzufertigen. Auch wir blicken auf über 20 Jahre Erfahrung in der Musikbranche zurück!

DU MÖCHTEST MASTERING LERNEN?

Mit unserem Costum-Made Mastering-Unterricht, holen wir Dich auf deinem Wissenstand ab und bringen dir alles wichtige zum Thema Mastering bei.

Mixing Engineer, Audio Engineer, Mastering Engineer – was sind die Unterschiede?

Der Begriff Audio Engineer wird meist als Oberbegriff für die professionelle Arbeit an Audio- bzw. Tonmaterial verwendet. Das Spekturm an Tätigkeiten innerhalb einer Musik Produktion ist aber so gigantisch, dass es sich hier lohnt das Ganze ein wenig weiter aufzuschlüsseln.

Mixing- und Mastering Engineer gehen Hand in Gand, um gemeinsam zum idealen Sound des Songs zu kommen.

In erster Linie beschäfitgt sich der Mixing Engineer mit dem Mischverhältnis der einzelnen Instrumente, schaft eine tonale Balance innerhalb des Songs und sorgt somit für eine angenehme Mischung.

Der Masteringingenieur wertet im Idealfall mit seiner Arbeit die bisher gegangenen Schritte des „Mischers“ nochmal auf, beseitigt leichte Ungereimtheiten innerhalb des Frequenzgangs und bereitet sowohl musikalisch als auch technisch das Audio Material so auf, dass es ein professionelles Niveau erreicht und konkurrenzfähig mit anderen Produktionen mithalten kann.