MUSIC PRODUCTION

Music production includes all the steps required to produce a musical work. What is behind a music production? Here we explain the basic steps of a production.

SONGWRITING / PRE-PRODUCTION IN MUSIC PRODUCTION

This is at the beginning of every music production song writing and the composition of the music. Every songwriter has a different approach - some start with one Text, others with one Song and in some productions the music is created before a text is written. It is important for every musician to find their own approach, because there is no right or wrong in music - the A&O of songwriting is to find a method that inspires your own creativity. After that he has to song arranged ie the developed idea is developed. It is looked at which parts of the song work or not, it is checked which structure fits the song and sound. First questions can be, does my song claim to tell a story? Is it a commercial audio production based on current trends and song structures? What fits the genre of music in which my song moves? In the end there should be one sketch arise, based on which the song can now be recorded.

RECORDING IN MUSIC PRODUCTION

With the sketch created, we now go to the Recording the instruments and vocals. This can in Recording studio happen or in your own home studio. So our music is already in the making. Good acoustics are important and pleasant shooting situation. The aim is to achieve the best possible result, because the song stands and falls with the recordings - a good recording quality guarantees a good result - don't fix it in the mix. It's important to take your time and test what sounds best in the song - this is where you should get creative and experiment with different effects, microphones and recording situations. Every audio project is different and poses new challenges, so it is important to always adapt your workflow to the artist and try to ensure that he can deliver his best result within the production. 

MIXING IN MUSIC PRODUCTION

The Mixing will ensure that the song sounds balanced and the most important elements are worked out. In the mix, all instruments are placed on an "imaginary" stage - the vocals at the center and the "band" positioned around it. It will be taken care of to give each instrument its space, both in the panorama and in the frequency spectrum - each instrument gets its own place. This ensures that each element is clearly audible at the end and the mix does not sound like a single mush of sound. This sound experience is achieved through the use of Compressors, equalizers, etc., in which the dynamics and the frequency spectrum are processed. To position the instrument in the panorama, panning effects such as reverb and delay are used, which give the sound the right depth. Nowadays, many studios also offer Online mixing. So it is no longer necessary to be on site.

MASTERING IN MUSIC PRODUCTION

At the end every production is that mastering. So if the mix sounds round and corresponds to the artist's ideas, the finishing touches are given here. The song will be first brought to the required volume and the overall sound of the song becomes accurate worked out or adjusted if necessary. The important, or the Added value of mastering is that after that the song will sound good wherever it ends up being heard. It doesn't matter whether it's via the hi-fi system, headphones, mobile phone loudspeakers or in the club, the music should be available to the listener everywhere edible and with that one sound experience .

WHAT HAPPENS AFTER THE MUSIC PRODUCTION?

Now all steps of the music production have been carried out and the final song can be released. For many, the question arises, how will my music continue? Here again, a number of important questions need to be clarified. How do you get your own music on popular platforms such as Spotify, Apple etc. - this can be done via a label or via a distributor as a self-release. In each case is a special Streaming mastering to recommend. But that's usually not enough. In order for the song to succeed, the next step should be a music video be produced, the song has to be on Playlists pitched and should be distributed across different platforms, such as magazines, blogs or Radio, to be advertised. All of this is initially the task of the artist - but as a producer who wants to push his artist and his music, these tasks can ultimately contribute to the success of audio music production.

STILL QUESTIONS ABOUT MUSIC PRODUCTION?

Send us a message - we will usually get back to you within 3 hours (on working days).

You can reach us by phone from Monday to Friday from 09 a.m. to 20 p.m.

MUSIKPRODUKTION

Die Musikproduktion umfasst alle Schritte die zur Herstellung eines musikalischen Werkes nötig sind. Was steckt hinter einer Musikproduktion? Hier erklären wir euch die grundlegenden Schritte einer Produktion.

SONGWRITING / PRE-PRODUCTION IN DER MUSIKPRODUKTION

Am Anfang jeder Musikproduktion stehen das Songwriting und die Komposition. Dabei geht jeder Songwriter anders vor – manche beginnen mit einem Text, andere mit einer Melodie und in manchen Produktionen entsteht zunächst die Musik bevor ein Text geschrieben wird. Wichtig ist es die eigene Herangehensweise zu finden, denn es gibt kein richtig oder falsch – das A&O des Songwritings ist eine Methode zu finden welche die eigene Kreativität beflügelt. Danach muss der Song arrangiert werden, d.h. die erarbeitete Idee wird ausgestaltet. Es wird geschaut welche Teile des Songs funktionieren oder nicht funktionieren, es wird geprüft welche Struktur für zum Song passt. Erste Fragestellungen können sein, hat mein Lied den Anspruch eine Geschichte zu erzählen? Handelt es sich um eine kommerzielle Produktion, die sich an aktuellen Trends und Songstrukturen orientiert? Was passt zum Genre, in dem sich mein Song bewegt? Am Ende sollte eine Skizze entstehen, anhand derer der Song nun recorded werden kann.

RECORDING IN DER MUSIKPRODUKTION

Mit der erstellten Skizze geht es nun an die Aufnahme der Instrumente und Vocals. Dies kann im Tonstudio geschehen oder im eigenen Homestudio. Wichtig ist eine gute Akustik und angenehme Aufnahmesituation. Ziel ist es das bestmögliche Ergebnis zu erzielen, denn der Song steht und fällt mit den Aufnahmen – eine gute Qualität der Aufnahme garantiert ein gutes Ergebnis – don’t fix it in the mix. Es ist wichtig sich Zeit zu lassen und zu testen, was im Song am besten klingt – hier sollte man kreativ werden und mit verschiedenen Effekten, Mikrofonen und Aufnahmesituationen experimentieren. Jedes Projekt ist anders und stellt neue Herausforderungen, daher ist es wichtig seinen Workflow immer an den Künstler anpassen und versuchen, dass dieser sein bestes Ergebnis abliefern kann. 

MIXING IN DER MUSIKPRODUKTION

Beim Mixing wird dafür gesorgt, dass der Song ausgewogen klingt und die wichtigsten Elemente herausgearbeitet werden. Im Mix werden alle Instrumente auf einer „imaginären“ Bühne platziert – der Gesang im Mittelpunkt und die „Band“, die sich darum positioniert. Es wird darauf geachtet jedem Instrument seinen Raum zu geben, sowohl im Panorama als auch im Frequenzspektrum – jedes Instrument bekommt seinen eigenen Platz. Somit stellt man sicher, dass am Ende jedes Element gut hörbar ist und der Mix nicht nach einem einzigen Soundbrei klingt. Dieses Klangerlebnis erreicht man durch den Einsatz von Kompressoren, Equalizern etc., bei denen die Dynamik und das Frequenzspektrum bearbeitet werden. Um das Instrument im Panorama zu positionieren, kommen Panning Effekte wie z.B. Hall und Delay zum Einsatz, diese verleihen dem Sound die richtige Tiefe. Heutzutage bieten viele Studios auch Online-Mixing. So ist es nicht mehr notwendig direkt vor Ort zu sein.

MASTERING IN DER MUSIKPRODUKTION

Am Ende jeder Produktion steht das Mastering. Klingt der Mix also rund und entspricht den Vorstellungen des Künstlers, wird ihm hier der letzte Schliff verpasst. Der Song wird zunächst auf die notwendige Lautstärke gebracht und der gesamte Klang des Songs wird genau herausgearbeitet oder ggf. angepasst. Das wichtige, bzw. der Mehrwert des Mastering ist, dass der Song danach überall, wo er am Ende gehört wird, gut klingt. Es ist egal, ob über die HiFi-Anlage, Kopfhörer, Handylautsprecher oder im Club, überall soll die Musik für den Hörer genießbar und damit ein Klangerlebnis sein.

WAS PASSIERT NACH DER MUSIKPRODUKTION?

Nun sind alle Schritte der Musikproduktion durchgeführt und der finale Song kann veröffentlicht werden. Für viele stellt sich hier die Frage, wie geht es nun weiter? Auch hier sind wieder einige wichtige Fragen zu klären. Wie bekommt man die eigene Musik auf die gängigen Plattformen wie Spotify, Apple etc. zu bekommen – dies kann über ein Lable geschehen oder über einen Distributor als Eigenveröffentlichung. In jedem Falle ist ein spezielles Streaming Mastering zu empfehlen.  Aber damit ist es meist nicht getan. Damit das Lied Erfolg hat sollte im nächsten Schritt ein Musikvideo produziert werden, der Song muss an Playlists gepitched werden und sollte über verschiedene Plattformen, wie Magazine, Blogs oder Radio, beworben werden. All das ist zwar zunächst Aufgabe des Künstlers – aber als Produzent, der seinen Künstler und dessen Musik pushen möchte, können diese Aufgaben am Ende zum Erfolg der Musikproduktion beitragen.

NOCH FRAGEN ZUR MUSIKPRODUKTION?

Sende uns eine Nachricht – In der Regel melden wir uns innerhalb von 3 Stunden bei dir (an Werktagen).

Telefonisch erreichst du uns in der Zeit von Mo-Fr von 09-20 Uhr