ANALOG MASTERING IN AUDIO PRODUCTION

WHAT IS ANALOG MASTERING?

The analog mastering works the mastering engineer in audio production with external hardware (sg analog hardware). The signal to be processed is fed to the external devices via high-quality AD converter channels. Artifacts can be partially bypassed by using analogue devices. The basic disadvantage of analog technology compared to digital technology is reproducibility (the so-called "total recall"). Due to the large number of buttons and rotary controls, which often do not have a grid, it is extremely time-consuming to adjust the processed audio material in analog mastering restore to allow for a consistent sound across all versions. In many cases, this only happens with time-consuming photography of the device settings in the mixer.

“Pure” analogue mastering is actually no longer done in the studio these days. Hybrid solutions are used today. This means that the delivered audio material is already available digitally after mixing. Using the DAW, it is sent to the analog devices via the AD converter and, after processing, is recorded again in the DAW and ends up as a stereo master. This has the advantage that the audio material can be digitally prepared or post-processed, regardless of the analog processing steps in the online mastering.

ADVANTAGES OF ANALOG MASTERING

The clear advantage of analog mastering is the unique sound, which makes sound processing in the mastering studio an experience thanks to the processing of high-quality components and sound conductors in the analog devices. Many hardware users swear by the feel of buttons and controls rather than pressing buttons with the mouse. In addition, analog sounds much more musical than digital, which is based on the fact that it is incredibly difficult to represent something imperfect in digital form. You can find more information about this in our blog post analogue vs. digital.

DISADVANTAGES OF ANALOG MASTERING

As a disadvantage, the difficult reproducibility of settings is the main problem with the mischi and mastering with analog hardware during the audio production. a vg total recall is difficult to do here. This can be remedied by taking photos of the settings on the devices and the tedious reconstruction should have to be changed. Which may well be the case in the case of the digitalization of the music industry.

IN WHAT FORMAT IS ANALOG MASTERING?

As a rule, the format (if it is uncompressed) does not play a major role. Bit depth and sample rate are more decisive. Usually you play titles that use the den Mixing process have passed through in at least 24 bit and 44,1 khz. A higher resolution and bit depth is possible and even desired, since you always work with the best resolved version in mastering. The final output format is only determined and played out after mastering.

WE REFINE YOUR PROJECT WITH ANALOG SOUND!

Over 15 years of mastering experience ensure your perfect sound!

ANALOG MASTERING IN DER AUDIOPRODUKTION

WAS IST ANALOG MASTERING?

Beim analogen Mastering arbeitet der Masteringingenieur in der Audioproduktion mit externer Hardware (s.g. analoger Hardware). Das zu bearbeitende Signal wird über hochwertige AD-Wandler Channels den externen Geräten zugespielt.  Artefakte können durch die Nutzung analoger Geräte teilweise umgangen werden. Der prinzipielle Nachteil der Analogtechnik gegenüber der Digitaltechnik ist die Repruduzierbarkeit (der s.g. „Total Recall“). Aufgrund vieler Knöpfe und Drehregler, die oft nicht gerastert sind, gestaltet es sich äußerst aufwändig Einstellungen des bearbeiteten Audiomaterials im analogen Mastering wieder herzustellen, um einen einheitlich Sound aller Versionen zu ermöglichen. Dies geschieht in vielen Fällen nur mit aufwändigem Fotografieren der Geräteeinstellungen im Mixer.

„Reines“ analoges Mastering, wird heutzutage im Studio eigentlich nicht mehr gemacht. Heute setzt man hierbei auf Hybridlösungen. Dies bedeutet, dass das anglieferte Audiomaterial nach dem Mixing schon digital vorliegt. Mittels DAW, über die AD-Wandler in die analogen Geräte geschickt wird und nach der Bearbeitung wieder aufgenommen in der DAW, als Stereo Master landet. Dies hat den Vorteil das Audiomaterial digital Vor- oder Nachbereitet werden kann, unabhängig der analogen Bearbeitungsschritte.

VORTEILE VON ANALOG MASTERING

Als Vorteil im analog Mastering ist ganz klar der einzigartige Sound, der durch die Verarbeitung von hochwertigen Komponenten und Klangleitern in den analogen Geräten, die Soundbearbeitung im Mastering Studio zu einem Erlebnis macht. Viele Nutzer von Hardware schwören auf die Haptik von Knöpfen und Reglern, anstatt mit der Maus Knöpfe zu drücken.

NACHTEILE VON ANALOG MASTERING

Als Nachteil ist die schwere Reproduzierbarkeit von Einstellungen das Hauptproblem beim mischen und mastern mit analoger Hardware während der Audio Produktion. Ein s.g. total recall ist hier nur schwer möglich. Abhilfe schafft das Abfotografieren der Einstellungen an den Geräten und das mühsame Nachbauen sollte man doch mal etwas ändern müssen. Was im Falle der Dititalisierung der Musikindustrie wohl durchaus der Fall sein kann.

IN WELCHEM FORMAT WIRD ANALOG GEMASTERT?

In der Regel spielt das Format (sofern es unkomprimiert ist) keine große Rolle. Entscheidender sind Bit Tiefe und Samplerate. Üblicherweise spielt man Titel die den Mixing Prozess durchlaufen haben in mindestens 24 bit und 44,1 khz aus. Eine höhere Auflösung und Bit-Tiefe ist möglich und sogar gewünscht, da man immer mit der am besten aufgelösten Version im Mastering arbeitet. Erst nach dem Mastering wird das finale Ausgangsformat festgelegt und ausgespielt.

WIR VEREDELN DEIN PROJEKT MIT ANALOGEM SOUND!

Über 10 Jahre Mastering Erfahrung sorgen für deinen perfekten Sound!