MIXING IN THE BOX OR ANALOGUE - WHAT'S BETTER?

Lately we have noticed more and more that many high quality studios are her Mixing "in the box", i.e. purely digital, and only switch to processing with analog hardware for the mastering process.

Due to the large number of high-quality plugins and powerful computers, it is now possible to use very high-quality and sensible ones production to mix. But what about "total recall“- the restoration of all settings - and the ultimate sound quality really look like?

IS THE ANALOG PROCESSING OF AUDIO MATERIAL "RECALL" CAPABLE?

Unfortunately only to a limited extent. We stand by in advance analog devices before a hurdle and these are the ones Poti controller. In the ideal case, one has a grid with a clearly recognizable grid. This can still be represented relatively well with EQs, but at the latest with Compressor it is already starting to get difficult there, right here, due to the threshold one Rasterization is difficult.

Some manufacturers of analog devices now have one Software interface built into their models. One speaks here of so-called Hybrid devices. With the help of this software integration, it is possible to save settings and presets digitally from the computer and transfer them to the analog device with one click.

Another option is offered by numerous software manufacturers who have developed a program that lists almost all common analog devices; with the respective illustrations and controls. Here they can Settings manually Profiles are transferred to the images and are therefore available relatively quickly.

Why relative? Because if we have to do a recall, we use the pictures and values ​​to set the settings manually transferred to our devices have to. Of course, this takes time and involves a certain amount of additional work, since you first need another program to load the settings and then transfer them manually to your equipment. With one or two compressors or other hardware, this is certainly not a problem, but if the amount of hardware used increases, the effort for the transfer from the analog devices to the program and back again increases accordingly.

The ones for us most suitable and time-saving method is still that manual photographing of the equipment and manual transmission of controller settings, based on the photos. We save the photos in our project folder, with the respective caption stating which instrument group or which instrument/voice it is. The advantage here is that you don't have to buy external software and thus also have to look for the right settings for the work step in the individual project.

What we find here, however, is that with all of these possibilities, it only It is partially possible to reproduce a mix to 100%. A clear point for mixing in the box.

It is a question of asking yourself again and again whether it is really about reproducing a mix 100% or about harmonizing tonality within a title. Everyone should answer this question for themselves. But what's the deal with the sound now?

ANALOGUE OR DIGITAL - WHICH PROCESSING SOUNDS BETTER?

When we got down to the topic, the first consideration we got was the in-game price. A digital compressor as a plug-in for 99 €, or an analog compressor for 6000 €? There should be a justification for both of them doing the same thing, or don't you think so?

At this point, we don't want to carry out any detailed tests, but instead encourage you to compare a plugin with an analogue device yourself. If you want to deal with the modeling of analog devices in plugin form, we recommend our contribution to Analog vs Digital.

For us personally, we have found that there have always been differences and, in the end, those Software was behind the hardware variant in all cases. Sometimes, we have to admit very clearly, it was really just little things that were different, such as a clearly crisp kick / bass range or higher resolution heights. In all cases we could but find the analogue processed material to be much more grippy. Whereas the software variants are always a bit sounded plastic and flat and this with the same settings.

See for yourself and decide for yourself. With several instances of different digital plugins, you get so close to the analog device that it is difficult, if not impossible, to hear the difference here. However, you need significantly more instances of different plugins than analog devices for the same result. At least if you have decided on a special model based on a sound quality. This is our experience.

But what about the time savings now?

DOES DIGITAL AUDIO PROCESSING REALLY SAVE MORE TIME THAN WITH ANALOG DEVICES?

Ten always depends on the way you work and the workflow. Of course, the effort is greater if you want to change something in the arrangement of the already completely finished mix. If you divide the mixdown into very clear processes and cuts, you can make small changes to the sound very quickly. If you only work on e.g group level with analog devices, so you can Benefit from the analog sound as well as edit the affected group relatively easily and quickly in the event of changes without having to touch the entire title again.

What for us in the way of working is a significant time saving - the first reason is sound. Comparing a digital mix with analog gear, we're going for the first really good draft the plugins have a clear advantage in terms of time.

It just sounds good faster.

OUR CONCLUSION ON "MIXING IN THE BOX"

Both digital and analog you get a very, very good sound, provided you have the skills to operate the equipment correctly and understand music. For our taste, we always prefer analog processing to digital. But digital processing is also used in our everyday work. For example, we clean the tracks digitally before we go into analog processing.

In our opinion, the grip of a title is much easier and faster to ensure with analog devices than with software plugins. Mixing in the box is and will remain a good alternative to analog hardware.

WANT TO ANALOGUE SOUND?

With the analog mixing from Peak Studios, we take your sound to the next level!

Brudi – Mach dir niemals Sorgen – Album release

Mixing in the Box oder analog – Was ist besser?






    In der letzten Zeit bekommen wir immer mehr mit, dass viele hochwertige Studios ihren Mixdown nur noch „in the box“, also rein digital, machen und lediglich zum Mastering-Prozess in die bearbeitung mit analoger Hardware welchseln.

    Durch die Vielzahl an hochwertigen Plugins und leistungsfähigen Rechnern ist es mittlerweile möglich, durchaus sehr hochwertige und vernünftige Produktionen zum mischen. Doch wie sieht es in puncto „total recall“ – das wiederherstellen aller Einstellungen – und der letztendlichen Soundqualität wirklich aus?






    Ist die analoge Bearbeitung von Audiomaterial „recall“ fähig?

    Leider nur bedingt. Vorab stehen wir bei analogen Geräten vor einer Hürde und dies sind die Poti Regler. Im idealsten Fall, hat man eine Rasterung mit gut erkennbarem Raster. Bei EQs lässt sich dies noch relativ gut abbilden, aber spätestens beim Kompressor fängt es schon an schwierig zu werden da, hier gerade, aufgrund des Tresholds eine Rasterung nur schwer möglich ist.

    Einige Hersteller von analogen Geräten haben mittlerweile eine Software Schnittstelle in ihren Modellen verbaut. Man spricht hier von sogenannten Hybridgeräte. Mit Hilfe dieser Software Integration ist es möglich aus dem Rechner heraus Einstellungen und Presets digital abzuspeichern und mit einem Klick auf das analoge Gerät zu übertragen.

    Eine weitere Möglichkeit bieten zahlreiche Softwarehersteller, die ein Programm entwickelt haben, welches ziemlich alle gängigen analogen Geräte in einer Liste; mit den jeweiligen Abbildungen und Reglern, zur Verfügung stellt. Hier können die Einstellungen manuell auf die Bilder Profile übertragen werden und sind somit relativ schnell verfügbar.

    Warum relativ? Weil wir, sofern wie einen recall machen müssen, wir uns anhand der Bilder und Werte die Einstellungen auf unsere Geräte händisch übertragen müssen. Dies kostet selbstverständlich Zeit und ist mit einem gewissen Mehraufwand verbunden, da man erst ein anderes Programm benötigt um sich die Einstellungen zu laden und diese dann manuell auf seine Gerätschaften zu übertragen. Bei ein bis zwei Kompressoren oder anderer Hardware ist das sicherlich kein Problem, solltet aber die Menge an verwendete Hardware steigen, so steigt dementsprechend auch der Aufwand für die Übertragung von den analogen Geräten in das Programm und wieder zurück.

    Die für uns am geeignetsten und zeitsparendeste Methode ist nach wie vor das manuelle abfotografieren der Gerätschaften und manuelle übertragen von Reglereinstellungen, anhand der Fotos. Die Fotos speichern wir dazu in unserem Projektordner, mit der jeweiligen Beschriftung, um welche Instrumentengruppe oder welches Instrument/Stimme es sich handelt. Der Vorteil hierbei ist, dass man sich das zukaufen einer externen Software spart und somit auch den Arbeitsschritt im Einzelnen Projekt die richtigen Einstellungen herauszusuchen.

    Was wir hier allerdings feststellen ist, dass bei allen diesen Möglichkeiten, es nur bedingt möglich ist einen Mix zu 100% wieder nachzustellen.

    Es heißt sich hier immer wieder zu fragen, ob es wirklich darum geht einen Mix zu 100% nachzustellen oder um eine harmonierende Tonalität innerhalb eines Titels. Diese Frage sollte jeder für sich selbst beantworten. Aber was hat es jetzt nun mit dem Sound auf sich?

     



    Analog oder digital – welche Bearbeitung klingt besser?

    Als wir uns mit dem Thema beschäftigt hatten, kam als erster Gesichtspunkt der Preis im Spiel. Ein digitaler Kompressor als Plugin für 99 €, oder einen analogen Kompressor für 6000 €? Dafür dass beide das gleiche tun, sollte irgendwo schon eine Rechtfertigung zu spüren sein, oder findet ihr nicht auch?

    Wir möchten an dieser Stelle keine ausführlichen Tests ausführen, sondern die Anregung geben, ein Plugin mit einem analogen Geräte, selbst zu vergleichen.

    Für uns persönlich haben wir festgestellt, dass es immer Differenzen gab und im Endresultat die Software in allen Fällen hinter der Hardware Variante lag. Manchmal, so müssen wir ganz deutlich zugestehen, waren es wirklich nur Kleinigkeiten die anders waren, wie z.b. ein deutlich knackiger Kick/Bassbereich oder auflösendere Höhen. In allen Fällen konnten wir das analog bearbeitete Material aber als deutlich griffiger empfinden. Wohingegen die Software Varianten immer ein wenig plastisch und flach geklungen haben und dies bei gleichen Einstellungen.

    Seht selbst und entscheidet für Euch. Mit mehreren Instanzen von verschiedenen digitalen Plugins, kommt man dem analogen Gerät schon so nahe, dass man hier nur schwer denn Unterschied erhören kann, wenn nicht sogar unmöglich. Man benötigt jedoch deutlich mehr Instanzen verschiedener Plugins als analoge Geräte für das selbe Ergebnis. Zumindest sofern man sich aufgrund einr Klangeigenschaft für ein spezielles Modell entschieden hat. Dies ist unser Erfahrungswert.

    Aber was ist jetzt mit der Zeitersparnis?

    Spart mal in der digitalen Audiobearbeitung wirklich mehr Zeit als mit analogen Geräten?

    Dies hängt immer von der Arbeitsweise und dem Workflow ab. Selbstverständlich ist der Aufwand größer wenn man am bereits komplett fertig gestellten Mix noch mal etwas am Arangement ändern möchte. Teilt man sich den Mixdown in ganz klare Prozesse und Schnitte auf, so kann man kleine Änderungen am Sound, ganz schnell vornehmen. Arbeitet man z.b. nur auf Gruppenebene mit analogen Geräten, so kann man sowohl vom analogen Sound profitieren als auch bei Änderungen relativ unproblematisch und zügig die betroffene Gruppe bearbeiten ohne den kompletten Titel neu anfassen zu müssen.

    Was für uns in der Arbeitsweise eine deutliche Zeitersparnis ist – der erste Grund Sound. Im Vergleich einer digitalen Mischung mit analogen Geräten sind wir für den ersten wirklich guten Entwurf deutlich an Zeit den Plugins im Vorteil.

    Es klingt einfach schneller gut.

    Unser Fazit über „mixing in the box“

    Sowohl digital als auch analog bekommt man einen sehr sehr guten Sound hin, sofern man die Fähigkeiten besitzt, die Gerätschaften richtig zu bedienen und Musik zu verstehen. Für unseren Geschmack bevorzugen wir immer die analoge Bearbeitung vor der digitalen. Aber auch in unserem Arbeitsalltag findet die digitale Bearbeitung Verwendung. So säubern wir z.B. die Spuren digital vor, bevor wir in die analoge Bearbeitung gehen.

    Die Griffigkeit eines Titels ist unserer Meinung nach, mit analogen Geräten, wesentlich einfacher und schneller zu gewährleisten, als mit Software Plugins.



    JETZT PERFEKTES ANALOG MIXING BUCHEN!

    Mixing-Files hochladen!

    Related Posts
    • All
    • By Author
    • By Category

    Comments are closed.