FIND MIXING AND MASTERING STUDIO - HOW TO RECOGNIZE THE RIGHT SERVICE PROVIDER!

In the time of the Corona crisis, more and more service providers are popping up who advertise taking your song to the next level, mixing it (Mixing) and or to masters. But when there is so much choice, how do I know that I have ended up with the right service provider?

On the following points at the selection for your mixing/Mastering studio we would like to go into more detail:

  • Price
  • Experience
  • References
  • Contact / response times
  • Equipment
  • Reviews
  • SUCCESS

PRICE

The price is a decisive factor for many musicians. The price factor should not be neglected, but neither should it be overestimated.

WHAT'S A RIGHT PRICE?

In order to be able to determine what a “correct” price is, we have to do a bit of a calculation. In general, the same way of thinking applies here as in the case of craft companies. A very low price suggests that the provider does not operate the whole thing full-time. This does not have to mean bad or inferior sound, but it can be a good indication of it. A not fully self-employed activity is also possible Conclusions about the expected processing time and response time for any questions. As a rough guide, we would like one here Hourly rate for audio services between € 50 and € 150 per hour gross consider appropriate and realistic for a full activity.

VALUE ADDED TAX

Another indication for a successful self-employed activity in the audio industry is the reporting of sales tax. From an annual income of € 22000, sales tax can be shown. From € 60000 must these are shown. So how does a monthly income of at least 1800 € or 5000 € speak.

EXPERIENCE

Especially in the field of music, experience is of enormous importance. Separate production process steps as the EQing or the compression are basic parameters that can be learned quite easily. The right insertion in the right place is necessary some level of experience. The rule here is that many roads lead to Rome! So if you have a wealth of experience, you always have several possible solutions to choose from and can therefore choose the right path based on the experience you have gained. Here, too, it is true that experience alone does not have to directly reflect the quality standard. service provider in the area rock and metal more experience, but another in the field Pop or Hip-Hop. If you work across genres, a service provider with several engineers who have experience at different levels and in different genres is an advantage.

Here it is important to pay attention to it how much total experience the respective service provider has, and how many years of experience in full self-employment.

REFERENCES

It is an advantage if you have a larger selection reference productions to the respective service provider. Here, of course, care must be taken thatthere are productions that correspond to their own genre. It should also be noted here that different productions, with different Equipment, in different rooms, may have been recorded and that Sub-areas of post-production have already been performed by other service providers. Therefore, references should only serve as a guide for a certain quality standard.

CONTACT

Here it is important to check how the service provider is usually contacted. Contact is only held here in writing, or a personal conversation is offered. You should also find out how long the average response time to possible queries is. Since audio production is often about emotions, we recommend a service provider who will deal with you personally and discuss your project in detail.

EQUIPMENT

Of course, the use of the equipment is a decisive factor why you might consider going to an external service provider. Music production equipment can often be very expensive, which is why not everyone can afford it as much as they want. It is important to note here, however, that one does not buy the equipment as a service, but rather the specialist sitting behind itwho must also be able to operate this efficiently and correctly.

REVIEWS

Reviews are indispensable nowadays and a high guarantee for a certain quality standard. First impressions of the quality of work, customer contact and the handling of changes can be found primarily on Google or other review portals.

SUCCESSES

Awards and prizes as well as certificates are a guarantee for a certain quality and success with this quality level. It is not absolutely necessary that a good service provider is also super successful and has a lot of awards, however, a significant indicator.

IMPRINT / CONTACT DETAILS

Every serious service provider has an imprint and should provide all the necessary information there. These include the Managing Director, the contact details, tax information, as well as all data protection information. In any case, before making a purchase, you should check whether you are dealing with a reputable provider on the one hand, and whether they are located in the same country if possible on the other. This can be very important, especially in dispute matters that we do not want anyone.

 

STILL LOOKING FOR THE RIGHT MIXING AND MASTERING STUDIO?

Learn more about Peak Studios and the Studio Team.

ITunes, Youtube, Spotify, Amazon und co. – So sollte Euer Song sein! Die 10 häufigsten Fehler im Mix – und wie ich diese vermeide

Mixing und Mastering Studio finden – So erkennst Du den richtigen Dienstleister!






    In der Zeit da Corona Krise ploppen immer mehr Dienstleister auf, die damit werben deinen Song auf das nächste Level zu bringen, ihn zu mischen und oder zu Mastern. Doch wenn es so viel Auswahl gibt, woher erkenne ich dass ich beim richtigen Dienstleister gelandet bin?



    Auf folgende Punkte bei der Auswahl für Euer Mixing/Mastering Studio möchten wir näher eingehen:

    • Preis
    • Erfahrung
    • Referenzen
    • Kontakt/Antwortzeiten
    • Equipment
    • Bewertungen
    • Erfolge

    Preis

    Der Preis ist für viele Musiker ein ausschlaggebender Faktor. Der Preisfaktor sollte zwar nicht vernachlässigt, aber auch nicht überbewertet werden.

    Was ist ein richtiger Preis?

    Um feststellen zu können was ein „richtiger“ Preis ist, müssen wir ein wenig überschlagen. Generell gilt hier ähnlich zu denken wie bei Handwerksunternehmen. Ein sehr geringer Preis lässt die Vermutung nahe, dass der Anbieter das ganze nicht hauptberuflich in Vollzeit betreibt. Dies muss keineswegs für schlechten oder minderwertigen Sound stehen, kann aber ein gutes Indiz dafür sein. Eine nicht vollselbständige Tätigkeit lässt wohlmöglich auch Rückschlüsse auf die zu erwartende Bearbeitungszeit und Reaktionszeit bei Rückfragen. Als groben Richtwert würden wir hier einen Stundensatz für Audio Dienstleistungen zwischen 50 € und 150 € pro Stunde brutto als angemessen und realistisch für eine vollständige Tätigkeit erachten.

    Umsatzsteuer

    Ein weiterer Hinweis für eine gut laufende selbständige Tätigkeit in der Audio Industrie ist das Ausweisen der Umsatzsteuer. Ab einem Jahreseinkommen von 22000 € kann die Umsatzsteuer ausgewiesen werden. Ab 60000 € muss diese ausgewiesen werden. Wie spricht also einen monatlichen Einkommen von mindestens 1800 € bzw. 5000 €.



    Erfahrung

    Gerade im Musikbereich ist die Erfahrung von enormer Wichtigkeit. Einzelne Produktionsprozessschritte wie das EQing oder die Kompression sind Grundparameter die recht einfach erlernt werden können. Das richtige Einsetzen an der richtigen Stelle Bedarf doch ein gewisses Maß an Erfahrung. Hier gilt, viele Wege führen nach Rom! Wer also im Besitz eines großen Erfahrungsschatz es ist, hat immer mehrere Lösungswege zur Auswahl und kann somit durch die gesammelte Erfahrung sich für den richtigen Weg entscheiden. Auch hier gilt, dass allein die Erfahrung nicht den Qualitätsstandard unmittelbar widerspiegeln muss. Dienstleister im Bereich Rock und Metal mehr Erfahrung, dafür ein anderer im Bereich Pop oder Hip-Hop. Arbeitet man Genre übergreifend, so ist ein Dienstleister mit mehreren Ingenieurs die Erfahrungen auf verschiedensten Ebenen und in verschiedensten Genres haben von Vorteil.

    Hier geht es darauf zu achten wie viel gesamt Erfahrung der jeweilige Dienstleister hat, und wie viele Jahre Erfahrung in voller Selbstständigkeit.



    Referenzen

    Von Vorteil ist es, wenn man eine größere Auswahl an Referenz-Produktionen zum jeweiligen Dienstleister begutachten kann. Hierbei ist natürlich darauf zu achten, dass Produktionen dabei sind, die dem eigenen Genre entsprechen. Zu beachten gilt es auch hier, dass unterschiedliche Produktionen, mit unterschiedlichem Equipment, in unterschiedlichen Räumen, aufgenommen worden sein können und das Teilbereiche der Nachproduktion schon durch andere Dienstleister erbracht wurden. Daher sollten Referenzen nur als Anhaltspunkt für einen gewissen Qualitätsstandard dienen.



    Kontakt

    Hier gilt es zu überprüfen wie die Kontaktaufnahme mit den Dienstleister in der Regel erfolgt. Wird hier nur schriftlich Kontakt gehalten, oder ein persönliches Gespräch angeboten. Außerdem sollte man sich auch erkundigen, wie lange im Durchschnitt die Antwortzeit auf eventuelle Rückfragen aussieht. Da es in der Audioproduktion oft um Emotionen geht, empfehlen wir einen Dienstleister der sich mit euch persönlich auseinandersetzt und euer Projekt ausgiebig bespricht.



    EQUIPMENT

    Selbstverständlich ist das verwende der Equipment ein ausschlaggebender Faktor warum man vielleicht sich überlegt zu einem externen Dienstleister zu gehen. Equipment für die Musikproduktion kann oft sehr kostspielig sein, weshalb es sich nicht jeder, in dem Maße wie er es sich gerne wünscht, leisten kann. Hier gilt es allerdings zu beachten, dass man nicht das Equipment als Dienstleistung kauft, sondern den dahinter sitzenden Fachmann, der dies auch effizient und richtig bedienen können muss.



    Bewertungen

    Bewertungen sind in der heutigen Zeit unabdingbar und ein hoher Garant für einen gewissen Qualitätsstandard. So lassen sich in erster Linie bei Google, oder anderen Bewertungsportalen, erste Eindrücke über die Arbeitsqualität, den Kundenkontakt und der Umgang mit Änderungen in Erfahrung bringen.



    Erfolge

    Auszeichnungen und Preise, sowie Zertifikate sind ein Garant für eine gewisse Qualität und Erfolge mit diesem Qualitätsniveau. Es ist nicht zwingend erforderlich, dass ein guter Dienstleister auch super erfolgreich ist und eine Menge an Auszeichnungen besitzt, jedoch ein maßgebliches Indiz.



    Impressum/Kontaktangaben

    Ein jeder seriöser Dienstleister verfügt über ein Impressum und solltet dort auch alle nötigen Informationen bereitstellen. Diese beinhalten unter anderem den Geschäftsführer, die Kontaktdaten, Steuerinformationen, sowie alle Datenschutzrechtlichen Hinweise. Hier sollte auf jeden Fall vor Kaufabschluss geschaut werden, ob es sich zum einen um einen seriösen Anbieter handelt, zum anderen dieser auch möglichst im selben Land sitzt. Dies kann gerade bei Streit Angelegenheiten, welche wir keinem wünschen, sehr wichtig werden.



    PERFEKTEN MIXDOWN UND MASTERING ERHALTEN!

    Mastering-Files hochladen!

    Related Posts
    • All
    • By Author
    • By Category
    • By Tag

    Comments are closed.