CREATE PODCAST

Successful to podcast recording

 

Create podcast with microphone and laptop

Podcasts have been enjoying increasing popularity in the online world for several years. But what makes a good podcast? What is there to consider when creating podcasts? How do you put a podcast on Spotify, Youtube and Co.? All information including instructions such as podcast recording, podcast apps and much more. In this tutorial you will find everything you need to know about creating a podcast.

PODCAST IN EVERYDAY LIFE

Podcasts have become an everyday companion for many people - on the way to work, while eating, or in the evening comfortably on the sofa. According to that Reuters Institute Digital News Report of 2019 21 percent of the German population listened to at least one online podcast a month - the number has probably increased by a few percentage points since there are more and more apps and providers. Among the most popular podcast platforms Spotify, Apple Music/Apple Podcasts and Deezer. But there are also dangers lurking when creating podcasts: the microphone is hissing, the person you are talking to is incomprehensible, the voice is distorted, just to name a few examples.

So that this doesn't happen to you, we will show you below, with our instructions, step by step, what to look out for when creating a podcast, which one Equipment is needed and how you put your podcast on Spotify, Youtube and Co.

PODCAST CONCEPT

Before creating the podcast, you should think about a concept for it. Identify and define the topic and target audience. Think about the orientation of your program (entertaining, informative, ...). Then you can think about the length of each episode. This should always remain the same, for example 25 to 30 minutes per episode. Of course, an episode can be longer or shorter from time to time, but a certain consistency should be maintained. The same applies to the publication of the individual episodes. A fixed release schedule, for example fortnightly or monthly, must also be established.

PODCAST LOGO

Both a graphic and a acoustic logo give your podcast a recognition value. Especially the former is necessary to create your podcast. An audio logo in the form of a jingle marks both the beginning (intro) and the end (outro) of a sequence. There are various providers from whom jingles can be purchased, or you can create your own jingle.

PODCAST EQUIPMENT

Before you get into that record, tape and create your podcast, you should choose the right equipment:

 

PODCAST RECORDING ACOUSTICS (ROOM ACOUSTICS)

Before you create the first episode of your podcast, you should create a test recording to check that both your microphone signal and the room you're recording in sound good. the Raumakustik is an often underestimated problem that can lead to poor recording quality. The aim is to keep the voice recording as dry as possible. If your space is problematic, it doesn't need a vocal booth or the acoustics of one professional studios. Small acoustic modules such as the acoustic foam or absorber panels on the MB AKUSTIK website or the desktop absorber from t.akustik provide a remedy for the perfect podcast recording.

PODCAST MICROPHONE

When selecting the microphone, it is important to consider whether it should be a "traditional" microphone with an XLR connector or a USB microphone. USB microphones have the advantage that they do not require an additional audio interface, as this is already integrated in the microphone. No matter which connection you choose, make sure that the directional characteristic of the microphone is cardioid. In addition, the sensitivity should not be too high, otherwise a lot of background noise such as passing cars will be captured - the popular entry-level microphone NT-1a from Rode is therefore suboptimal for creating podcasts.

Attention: If you want to create podcasts with several guests, you should use an XLR microphone with an audio interface. Connecting multiple USB mics to a computer can be problematic (but it's doable).

Furthermore, a microphone spider and a pop filter should be part of your setup. The former dampens structure-borne noise and footsteps, the latter intercepts unpleasant plosive (P, T, ...) and sibilant (S, Z, ...) sounds. Many microphones come with a pop filter and spider - it's worth checking!

USB microphones up to 150 euros:

  • Blue Snowball
  • Tascam TM-250U
  • Rode NT-USB
  • Audio Technica AT2020 USB+
  • AKG Lyre

 

USB microphones up to 300 euros:

  • Rode Podcaster MkII
  • PreSonus Revelator
  • Elgato Wave: 3
  • Back MV7
  • Beyerdynamic Vox

 

USB microphones over 300 euros:

  • Apogee HypeMic
  • Antelope Audio Axino Synergy Core
  • Shure SM 7B
  • Yellowtec iXm Podcaster

 

XLR microphones up to 150 euros:

  • IK Multimedia iRig Mic Studio XLR
  • Rode PodMic
  • bone SC450
  • PreSonus PD-70
  • Sontronics Podcast Pro

 

XLR microphones up to 300 euros:

  • Rode ProCaster
  • Back MV7
  • Beyerdynamic M70 ProX
  • Audio Technica AT2050
  • AKG C3000

 

XLR microphones over 300 euros:

  • Earthworks Audio Icon Pro
  • Electrovoice RE-20
  • Audio Technica AT4040

AUDIO INTERFACE

An audio interface is needed when you choose one XLR microphone decide and/or would like to accommodate several guests locally at the same time. The task of the interface is to amplify the incoming microphone signal and convert it from analog to digital. The converted signal is then sent to the computer via USB/Firewire/Thunderbolt cable and channeled into the DAW. Audio interfaces usually always have at least one headphone output including volume control. An advantage over USB microphones, where both the headphone output and the volume control provided for this purpose are often attached directly to the microphone body, which can lead to unwanted noises in the recording when adjusting.

USB audio interfaces with 2 microphone inputs:

  • Focusrite Scarlett 2i2
  • Motor M2
  • Universal Audio Volt 276
  • Behringer U-Phoria UMC202HD

 

USB audio interfaces with 4 microphone inputs:

  • iConnectivity Audio4c
  • Tascam US 4x4HR
  • Focusrite Scarlett 4i4
  • Audient Evo 8

STANDALONE RECORDER

Who prefer All-In-One wants to record can do so with standalone recorders. In addition to the conventional analogue connections, many recorders offer USB and Bluetooth interfaces, so that online calls can also be recorded from a smartphone, for example. In addition, these devices often offer sound pads with which jingles, sound effects and other samples or loops can be "fired". Various effects such as compressors and de-essers are also usually on board. The advantage of standalone recorders is that with them, thanks to SD card can create their podcast anywhere.

Standalone recorder:

  • Rode RodeCaster Pro
  • Tascam Mixcast Pro
  • Zoom PodTrak P4
  • Zoom H8
  • Sound Devices MixPre-6 II

PODCAST SOFTWARE

For the Post-processing of the podcast recordings a DAW is recommended. Since it's all about the post-processing of speech (and possible editing of music, effects, etc.), it doesn't need a "high-end DAW". There are many different developers, some even free versions their audio editing software (program). The classics include the program or programs from Audacity, Bandlab Cakewalk, Garageband, Hindenburg and Reaper. Here you can make step by step the individual editing of episodes, insert intro and outro.

Create a podcast with podcast software

RECORD PODCAST

No matter which setup you choose, the top priority when recording your podcast remains not to overdrive! You can adjust the volume level using the gain control on your microphone/audio interface. This should be around -12 dB FS. If your microphone signal is already too loud in your DAW/recorder, there are often pad switches that lower the signal by 20 dB. If you are unsure, you can use one for the first shots Limit into the corresponding channel of the DAW and set the ceiling to -1 dB.

As soon as the room acoustics have been checked or adjusted, the microphone is in the spider, the pop filter is attached and the level is set correctly, you can start recording.
By the way, you should wear headphones (preferably closed-back headphones) during the recording, so that there is no crosstalk on your microphone signal.

AUDIO EDITING

Once you've recorded your episode, that counts edit audio. Slips of the tongue and frequent "Uhhs", "Uhmms", etc. should be cut out. It always applies between editing and natural language flow to weigh. If a cut noticeably impairs the flow of speech, you should consider leaving the "uh". Smacks, on the other hand, should always be removed (if possible). You'd be amazed how many people start their sentences with a smack that doesn't catch the eye in face-to-face conversation but stands out uncomfortably in the recording.

In addition, a low-cut at approx. 90 Hz can be set for voice tracks using an equalizer. For female speakers it is a little further up, at around 120 Hz. In order to increase the intelligibility of the speech, a small increase at 250 Hz and a slightly stronger increase at around 3,5 kHz often help. Hissing noises can be defused via the de-esser and are mostly in the range of around 6,5 kHz. But be careful: if you de-ess too much, it will sound like a lisp!

After the equal can the dynamics by means of a Compressor to be controlled. A fast attack with a medium to slow release and a ratio of 4:1 to 6:1 compensates for jumps in volume. A high level of dynamics is not desirable with podcasts, as they are usually heard as an accompanying medium.
Incidentally, several compressors can also be used one after the other, each reducing only a few dB. This can be particularly helpful with signals from online recordings such as Zoom or Skype, which experience has shown to distort very quickly.
After compression, the highs can be increased again with a high shelf band in the equalizer, but that depends on the signal and taste.

If you're new to podcast or voice editing, artificial intelligence tools can help. In particular, iZotope Neutron and United Plugins/Soundevice Digital Voxessor should be mentioned here.

MASTERING AND EXPORTING

Once the language has been edited and any jingles, effects, etc. have been cut in, you can do that Podcast masters create. A subtractive equalizer to equalize interfering frequencies if necessary and a gentle compression to "to stick together“ can be used on the master channel. A limiter should be placed at the end of the effects chain, with a ceiling set to -1 dB FS. The final test is always the ear - so check if your podcast sounds good, nothing overdriven and everything is easy to understand.

By the way, many have Streaming platforms like Spotify, Youtube and Apple Music have their own guidelines regarding loudness, which we summarized in a separate post. However, these guidelines play a secondary role when creating podcasts. Nevertheless, certain loudness values ​​(in LUFs measured) important so that your podcast doesn't sound too quiet!

If everything is to your satisfaction, you can export/bounce the episode. For podcasts, a stereo MP3 audio file with a constant bit rate (CBR) of 128 kbps is usually sufficient. If you play music in your podcast, you can increase the bitrate to 256 kbps.

STREAMING MASTER

Test our analog streaming mastering now.

UPLOAD AND PUBLICATION

In order to publish your podcast, you need a hoster. There are different hosters that also serve different platforms. The most well-known websites and apps like Spotify, Apple Music/Apple Podcasts, ITunes, Deezer and Google Podcasts are usually populated by all hosters. So marketing is important to get your postcast heard!

Hoster:

  • Podcaster.de
  • Podbeam
  • libsyn
  • Anchor.fm
  • Castor
  • Letscast.fm

Special case Youtube: Compared to Spotify, Deezer and Co., YouTube is usually not populated by podcast hosters. Nevertheless, it can't hurt to upload the podcast to YouTube. Visuals are needed, of course, but that's provided in the form of each episode's featured image, as is the finished audio track—so you don't need to create separate content for it. The easiest way is to simply fade in a still image of the featured image over the duration of the podcast - which can be done quickly and easily with any video editing software. If you don't already have video editing software, I recommend Black Magic Design's free DaVinci Resolve.
Incidentally, you can adjust the publication of your episodes on YouTube to that of your hoster so that the episodes appear on Spotify, Deezer, Youtube & Co. at the same time. With a little extra effort, you increase the potential online reach of your podcast.

Tips:

  1. Always record your own language track locally for better audio quality.
  2. For online interviews: Ask the other person if he/she can record the voice track locally and then send it.
  3. Safety first: Many online video chat platforms offer an integrated audio recording function. Always enable this, even if the tracks are recorded locally, so that there is a backup.
  4. Briefing the conversation partner: Before the podcast, the conversation partner should be clear about what equipment he/she needs, which video chat platform is being used, the topic, etc.
  5. If you play music in the podcast, it should be produced in advance. The eventual editing of music should not only happen when creating your podcast.
  6. For each audio track (speaker, jingle, music...) you should create a separate audio track in your DAW. This makes editing and volume adjustment easier.
  7. Listen to your episode again after creating it.
  8. Also upload your podcast to YouTube via the website.
 

Autoren:

Christoph Strauss, Chris Jones

PODCAST ERSTELLEN

Erfolgreich zur Podcast Aufnahme

 

Podcast erstellen mit Mikrofon und Laptop

Podcasts erfreuen sich seit einigen Jahren wachsender Beliebtheit in der online Welt. Doch was macht einen guten Podcast aus? Was gibt es beim Erstellen von Podcasts zu beachten? Wie stellt man einen Podcast auf Spotify, Youtube und Co.? Alle Infos inkl. Anleitung wie Podcast Aufnahme, Podcast Apps uvm. rund um das Thema „Podcast erstellen“ findest Du in diesem Tutorial.

PODCAST IM ALLTAG

Podcasts sind für viele Menschen zum alltäglichen Begleiter geworden – auf der Weg zur Arbeit, beim Essen, oder abends gemütlich auf dem Sofa. Laut dem Reuters Institute Digital News Report von 2019 haben 21 Prozent der deutschen Bevölkerung mindestens einen online Podcast im Monat gehört – die Zahl dürfte mittlerweile um einige Prozentpunkte gestiegen sein, da es immer mehr Apps und Anbieter gibt. Zu den beliebtesten Podcast-Plattformen gehören Spotify, Apple Music/Apple Podcasts und Deezer. Doch auch beim Erstellen von Podcasts lauern Gefahren: das Mikrofon rauscht, der Gesprächspartner ist unverständlich, die Stimme ist verzerrt, nur um ein einige Beispiele zu nennen.

Damit dir das nicht passiert, zeigen wir dir nachfolgend, mit unserer Anleitung, Schritt für Schritt, worauf es beim Erstellen eines Podcasts zu achten gilt, welches Equipment benötigt wird und wie du deinen Podcast auf Spotify, Youtube und Co. stellst.

PODCAST KONZEPT

Vor dem Podcast erstellen solltest du dir ein Konzept dafür überlegen. Identifiziere und definiere das Thema und die Zielgruppe. Überlege, welche Ausrichtung deine Sendung annehmen soll (unterhaltsam, informativ, …). Anschließend kannst du dir Gedanken über die Länge jeder Folge machen. Diese sollte immer ähnlich bleiben, beispielsweise 25 bis 30 Minuten pro Folge. Natürlich darf zwischendurch eine Folge auch mal länger oder kürzer sein, aber eine gewisse Konstanz sollte beibehalten werden. Das Gleiche gilt für das Veröffentlichen der einzelnen Folgen. Ein fester Release-Zeitplan, zum Beispiel 14-tägig oder monatlich, muss ebenfalls festgelegt werden.

PODCAST LOGO

Sowohl ein grafischen als auch ein akustisches Logo geben deinem Podcast einen Wiedererkennungswert. Vor allem Ersteres ist notwendig, um deinen Podcast zu erstellen. Ein Audiologo in Form eines Jingles markiert zugleich Anfang (Intro) und Ende (Outro) einer Folge. Es gibt diverse Anbieter, bei denen Jingles erworben werden können, oder man erstellt selbst ein Jingle.

PODCAST EQUIPMENT

Bevor du dich an das Aufnehmen und Erstellen deines Podcasts machst, solltest du das passende Equipment auswählen:

 

PODCAST AUFNAHME AKUSTIK (RAUMAKUSTIK)

Bevor du die erste Folge deines Podcasts erstellst, solltest du eine Probeaufnahme machen, um zu prüfen, ob sowohl dein Mikrofonsignal als auch der Raum, in dem du aufnimmst, gut klingen. Die Raumakustik ist ein oft unterschätztes Problem, das zu schlechter Aufnahmequalität führen kann. Ziel ist eine möglichst trockene Sprachaufnahme. Wenn dein Raum problematisch ist, braucht es nicht gleich eine Gesangskabine oder die Akustik eines professionellen Studios. Kleine Akustikmodule wie die Akustik-Schaumstoff- oder Absorber-Paneelen auf der Webseite von MB AKUSTIK oder der Desktop-Absorber von t.akustik schaffen Abhilfe für die perfekte Podcast Aufnahme.

PODCAST MIKROFON

Bei der Auswahl des Mikrofons gilt es zu überlegen, ob es ein „traditionelles“ Mikro mit XLR-Anschluss oder ein USB-Mikrofon sein soll. USB-Mikrofone haben den Vorteil, dass sie kein zusätzliches Audio-Interface benötigen, da dieses bereits im Mikro integriert ist. Egal für welchen Anschluss du dich entscheidest, achte auf jeden Fall darauf, dass die Richtcharakteristik des Mikros eine Niere ist. Außerdem sollte die Empfindlichkeit nicht zu hoch sein, da ansonsten auch viele Nebengeräusche wie vorbeifahrende Autos eingefangen werden – das allseits beliebte Einsteigermikrofon NT-1a von Rode ist deswegen zum Podcast erstellen suboptimal.

Achtung: Wer Podcasts mit mehreren Gästen erstellen möchte, sollte zu einem XLR-Mikrofon mit Audio-Interface greifen. Mehrere USB-Mikros an einen Rechner anzuschließen kann problematisch sein (ist aber machbar).

Des Weiteren sollten eine Mikrofonspinne sowie ein Poppschutz deinem Setup angehören. Ersteres dämpft Körperschall und Schrittgeräusche, letzteres fängt unangenehme Plosiv- (P, T, …) und Zischlaute (S, Z, …) ab. Poppschutz und Spinne sind bei vielen Mikrofonen im Lieferumfang enthalten – eine Prüfung diesbezüglich lohnt sich!

USB-Mikrofone bis 150 Euro:

  • Blue Snowball
  • Tascam TM-250U
  • Rode NT-USB
  • Audio-Technica AT2020 USB+
  • AKG Lyra

 

USB-Mikrofone bis 300 Euro:

  • Rode PodCaster MkII
  • PreSonus Revelator
  • Elgato Wave: 3
  • Shure MV7
  • Beyerdynamic Vox

 

USB-Mikrofone über 300 Euro:

  • Apogee HypeMic
  • Antelope Audio Axino Synergy Core
  • Shure SM 7B
  • Yellowtec iXm Podcaster

 

XLR-Mikrofone bis 150 Euro:

  • IK Multimedia iRig Mic Studio XLR
  • Rode PodMic
  • bone SC450
  • PreSonus PD-70
  • Sontronics Podcast Pro

 

XLR-Mikrofone bis 300 Euro:

  • Rode ProCaster
  • Shure MV7
  • Beyerdynamic M70 ProX
  • Audio-Technica AT2050
  • AKG C3000

 

XLR-Mikrofone über 300 Euro:

  • Earthworks Audio Icon Pro
  • Electrovoice RE-20
  • Audio-Technica AT4040

AUDIO-INTERFACE

Ein Audio-Interface wird dann gebraucht, wenn du dich für ein XLR-Mikrofon entscheidest und/oder lokal meherere Gäste gleichzeitig aufnehmen möchtest. Die Aufgabe des Interfaces ist es, das eingehende Mikrofonsignal zu verstärken und von analog in digital zu wandeln. Das gewandelte Signal wird anschließend via USB-/Firewire-/Thunderbolt-Kabel an den Rechner geschickt und in die DAW geschleust. Audio-Interfaces haben in der Regel immer mindestens einen Kopfhörerausgang inklusive Lautstärkeregler. Ein Vorteil gegenüber USB-Mikrofonen, bei welchen sowohl Kopfhörerausgang als auch der dafür vorgesehene Lautstärkeregler oftmals direkt am Mikrofonkorpus angebracht sind, was beim Einstellen zu ungewollten Geräuschen in der Aufnahme führen kann.

USB-Audio-Interfaces mit 2 Mikrofoneingängen:

  • Focusrite Scarlett 2i2
  • Motu M2
  • Universal Audio Volt 276
  • Behringer U-Phoria UMC202HD

 

USB-Audio-Interfaces mit 4 Mikrofoneingängen:

  • iConnectivity Audio4c
  • Tascam US-4x4HR
  • Focusrite Scarlett 4i4
  • Audient Evo 8

STANDALONE-RECORDER

Wer lieber All-In-One aufnehmen möchte, kann dies mit Standalone-Recordern tun. Viele Recorder bieten neben den herkömmlichen analogen Anschlüssen USB- und Bluetooth-Schnittstellen, sodass beispielsweise auch Online-Anrufe vom Smartphone aufgenommen werden können. Zudem bieten diese Geräte oftmals Sound-Pads, mit denen Jingles, Sound-Effekte und andere Samples oder Loops „abgefeuert“ werden können. Auch diverse Effekte wie Kompressor und De-Esser finden sich zumeist an Bord. Der Vorteil von Standalone-Recordern ist, dass mit ihnen dank SD-Karte überall seinen Podcast erstellen kann.

Standalone-Recorder:

  • Rode RodeCaster Pro
  • Tascam Mixcast Pro
  • Zoom PodTrak P4
  • Zoom H8
  • Sound Devices MixPre-6 II

PODCAST SOFTWARE

Für die Nachbearbeitung der Podcast-Aufnahmen empfiehlt sich eine DAW. Da es um die reine Nachbearbeitung von Sprache geht (und eventuelle Einschneider von Musiken, Effekten, etc.), braucht es keine „High-End-DAW“. Es gibt viele unterschiedliche Entwickler, die teils sogar gratis Versionen ihrer Audiobearbeitungs-Software (Programm) anbieten. Zu den Klassikern gehören das Progromm bzw. Programme von Audacity, Bandlab Cakewalk, Garageband, Hindenburg und Reaper. Hier kann man sich Schritt für Schritt der einzelnen Bearbeitung der Episoden machen, Intro und Outro einfügen.

Podcast erstellen mit Podcast Software

PODCAST AUFNEHMEN

Egal für welches Setup du dich entscheidest, oberstes Gebot beim Aufnehmen deines Podcasts bleibt, nicht zu übersteuern! Anhand des Gain-Reglers deines Mikros/Audio-Interfaces kannst du den Lautstärkepegel einstellen. Dieser sollte bei um die -12 dB FS liegen. Sollte dein Mikrofonsignal bereits zu laut in deine DAW/Recorder gehen, gibt es oftmals Pad-Schalter, die das Signal um 20 dB absenken. Wenn du dir unsicher bist, kannst du für die ersten Aufnahmen einen Limiter in den entsprechenden Kanal der DAW legen und das Ceiling auf -1 dB stellen.

Sobald die Raumakustik geprüft beziehungsweise angepasst ist, das Mikro in der Spinne steckt, Poppschutzfilter angebracht und richtig eingepegelt ist, kannst du aufnehmen.
Übrigens solltest du während der Aufnahme Kopfhörer tragen (am besten geschlossener Bauweise), damit keine Übersprechung auf dein Mikrofonsignal kommt.

AUDIOBEARBEITUNG

Wenn du deine Folge aufgenommen hast, gilt es das Audiomaterial zu bearbeiten. Versprecher und häufige „Ähhs“, „Ähmms“, u.s.w. sollten herausgeschnitten werden. Es gilt stets zwischen Schnitt und natürlichem Sprachfluss abzuwägen. Wenn ein Schnitt den Sprachfluss merklich beeinträchtigt, sollte man überlegen, das „Äh“ zu belassen. Schmatzer sollten hingegen (wenn möglich) immer entfernt werden. Du wirst erstaunt sein, wie viele Leute ihre Sätze mit einem Schmatzlaut beginnen, der im Face-to-Face-Gespräch nicht auffällt, in der Aufnahme aber unangenehm hervorsticht.

Des Weiteren kann bei Sprachspuren ein Low-Cut bei ca. 90 Hz mittels Equalizer gesetzt werden. Bei weiblichen Sprechern durchaus noch etwas weiter oben, bei ca. 120 Hz. Um die Verständlichkeit der Sprache zu erhöhren, hilft oft eine kleine Anhebung bei 250 Hz sowie eine etwas stärkere Anhebung bei ca. 3,5 kHz. Zischlaute können via De-Esser entschärft werden und befinden sich meist im Bereich um die 6,5 kHz. Doch Vorsicht: bei zu viel De-essing klingt es gelispelt!

Nach dem Equing kann die Dynamik mittels eines Kompressors kontrolliert werden. Eine schnelle Attack bei mittlerer bis langsamer Release und einer Ratio von 4:1 bis 6:1 gleicht Lautstärkesprünge aus. Eine hohe Dynamik ist bei Podcasts nicht erstrebenswert, werden sie doch meist als Begleitmedium gehört.
Übrigens können auch mehrere Kompressoren nacheinander eingesetzt werden, die jeweils nur ein paar dB reduzieren. Dies kann vor allem bei Signalen von Online-Aufnahmen wie Zoom oder Skype hilfreich sein, die erfahrungsgemäß sehr schnell verzerren.
Nach der Kompression können die Höhen nochmal mit einem Highshelf-Band im Equalizer angehoben werden, das ist aber signal- und geschmacksabhängig.

Wenn du noch unerfahren in der Podcast- beziehungsweise Sprachbearbeitung bist, können Tools mit künstlicher Intelligenz unterstützen. Hier sind insbesondere iZotope Neutron und United Plugins/Soundevice Digital Voxessor zu erwähnen.

MASTERING UND EXPORT

Ist die Sprache bearbeitet und eventuelle Jingles, Effekte, etc. eingeschnitten, kannst du das Podcast Master erstellen. Ein subtraktiver Equalizer, um gegebenenfalls Störfrequenzen zu entzerren sowie eine sachte Kompression, um alles „zusammenzukleben“ können auf dem Master-Kanal eingesetzt werden. Am Ende der Effektkette sollte ein Limiter platziert werden, dessen Ceiling auf -1 dB FS steht. Letzte Prüfinstanz ist immer das Ohr – Prüfe also, ob dein Podcast gut klingt, nichts übersteuert und alles gut verständlich ist.

Übrigens haben viele Streaming-Plattformen wie Spotify, Youtube und Apple Music eigene Richtlinien bezüglich der Lautheit, die wir in einem separaten Beitrag zusammengefasst haben. Diese Richtlininen spielen allerdings für das Erstellen von Podcasts eher eine Nebenrolle.

Ist alles zu deiner Zufriedenheit, kannst du die Folge exportieren/bouncen. Für Podcasts ist eine Stereo-MP3-Audiodatei mit einer konstanten Bitrate (CBR) von 128 kbps in der Regel ausreichend. Spielst du Musik in deinem Podcast, kannst du die Bitrate auf 256 kbps erhöhen.

STREAMING MASTER

Teste jetzt unser analoges Streaming Mastering.

UPLOAD UND VERÖFFENTLICHUNG

Um deinen Podcast veröffentlichen zu können, brauchst du einen Hoster. Es gibt verschiedene Hoster, die ebenfalls verschiedene Plattformen bedienen. Die bekanntesten Websites und Apps wie Spotify, Apple Music/Apple Podcasts, ITunes, Deezer und Google Podcasts werden in der Regel von allen Hostern bestückt. Marketing ist also wichtig, damit Dein Postcast gehört wird!

Hoster:

  • Podcaster.de
  • Podbeam
  • Libsyn
  • Anchor.fm
  • Castor
  • Letscast.fm

Sonderfall Youtube: Im Vergleich zu Spotify, Deezer und Co. wird Youtube in der Regel nicht von Podcast-Hostern bestückt. Dennoch kann es nicht schaden, den Podcast bei Youtube hochzuladen. Natürlich wird Bildmaterial benötigt, doch das liegt in Form des Beitragsbildes jeder Folge ebenso bereit wie die fertige Audiospur – du musst also keine separaten Inhalte dafür erstellen. Am Einfachsten ist es daher, einfach ein Standbild des Beitragsbildes über die Dauer des Podcasts einzublenden – was mit jeder Videosbearbeitungssoftware schnell und einfach gelingt. Wenn du noch keine Software für Videobearbeitung hast, empfehle ich das kostenlose DaVinci Resolve von Black Magic Design.
Die Veröffentlichung deiner Folgen kannst du übrigens auf Youtube dem deines Hosters angleichen, damit die Folgen auf Spotify, Deezer, Youtube & Co. zeitgleich erscheinen. Mit einem geringen Mehraufwand erhöhst du so die potenzielle online Reichweite deines Podcasts.

Tipps:

  1. Die eigene Sprachspur immer lokal mitschneiden à bessere Audioqualität.
  2. Bei Online-Interviews: Gegenüber fragen, ob er/sie die Sprachspur lokal aufnehmen und anschließend schicken kann.
  3. Safety first: Viele Online-Videochat-Plattformen bieten eine integrierte Audio-Aufnahmefunktion. Diese immer aktivieren, auch wenn die Spuren lokal aufgenommen werden, damit ein Backup vorhanden ist.
  4. Gesprächspartner briefen: Vor dem Podcast sollte dem Gesprächsparter klar sein, welches Equipment er/sie benötigt, ggf. welche Videochat-Plattform genutzt wird, Thema, etc.
  5. Wenn du Musik im Podcast spielst, sollte diese vorab fertig produziert sein. Die eventuelle Bearbeitung von Musik sollte nicht erst beim Erstellen deines Podcasts passieren.
  6. Für jede Audiospur (Sprecher, Jingle, Musik …) solltest du eine eigene Audiospur in deiner DAW erstellen. Dies erleichert die Bearbeitung und Lautstärkeeinstellung.
  7. Höre deine Folge nach dem Erstellen nochmal ab.
  8. Lade deinen Podcast zusätzlich über die Webseite bei Youtube hoch.
 

Autoren:

Christoph Strauß, Chris Jones