SPOTIFY DISABLES YOUR LIMITER

The joy couldn't be greater. Spotify no longer uses a limiter after increasing it! The streaming provider Spotify was the only provider that had previously switched on a limiter after increasing quiet titles in order to absorb level peaks that go beyond -1dbTP. This should be over now!

WHY DOES SPOTIFY USE A LIMITER?

Spotify was fundamentally interested in not allowing any distortion in the playback of songs that were mastered quieter than theirs Specifications for upload when streaming demanded it. But that should be over now! If the setting "Set the same volume level for all songs" is activated, it is no longer normalized to -1dbTP. Juhu wonderful ... But what does that mean exactly?

NO LIMITATIONS ON DYNAMIC SONGS ON SPOTIFY

The normalization loudness on Spotify is by default -14 LUfs for all, unless you have deactivated this setting. But if you consider that so far only 17% of Spotify users have deactivated this setting, you still have 83% who use exactly this normalization of your songs.

Premium users, on the other hand, have a few more setting options for loudness:

Quiet-23 LUFS
Normal-14 LUFS
Laut-11 LUFS

Quiet: Ideal for a perfect listening environment with high dynamic reproduction

Normal: Standard setting and ok for most users.

Laut: Setting to still be able to enjoy the music in a noisy environment. Here Spotify CONTINUES to use a level increase and subsequent limiting to avoid overloading of quieter material than -11 LUfs. Songs that are already uploaded louder than -11 LUfs on Spotify will remain unaffected as before.

WHAT DOES THIS MEAN FOR MY SONGS?

As we have already learned, Spotify is not interested in avoiding “clipping” in the “Quiet” and “Normal” settings. In the future, the loudness will no longer be increased for quieter songs than -14 LUfs!

The following example:

We have a song that is very dynamic. This has an average loudness over the entire reproduction of -16 LUfs with a TP of -0,5 dbTP. 

With the current regulation nothing will be changed in the title. So it is played exactly as it is uploaded.

But BEFORE: If the TruePeak values ​​are not adhered to, “clipping” can occur during conversions into other playback formats by Spotify. With dynamic songs it will be important to pay attention to the TruePeak values ​​when exporting and uploading!

WE MAKE YOUR SONG STREAMING READY!

We not only pay attention to the technical specifications of the providers, but can also preview your song in all codexes that the streaming providers use and adapt them accordingly!

OUR OPINION ON SWITCHING OFF THE LIMITER

We see this change as being absolutely positive. So far, Spotify has also been the only provider of the one Limit after raising the level. As a result, the specifications are becoming more and more uniform. If you think back to the last few years, when every streaming provider had agreed what they wanted.

Due to the more and more uniform upload specifications, it will also be for the artist, the Recording studio and later that Mastering Engineer always be a simpler one online mastering for streaming to create providers.

SPOTIFY DEAKTIVIERT IHREN LIMITER

Die Freude könnte nicht größer sein. Spotify verwendet nun keinen Limiter mehr nach Anhebung! Der Streaming-Anbieter Spotify war der Einzige Anbieter der bisher einen Limiter nach Anhebung leiser Titel geschaltet hatte, um Pegelspitzen die über -1dbTP hinaus gehen abzufangen. Damit soll nun schluss sein!

WIESO VERWENDET SPOTIFY EINEN LIMITER?

Spotify war grundsätzlich daran interessiert keine Verzerrungen in der Wiedergabe von Songs zu ermöglichen, die leiser gemastert waren als es ihre Spezifikationen für den Upload beim Streaming es verlangten. Doch damit soll jetzt schluss sein! Wenn die Einstellung „Setze das selbe Volume Level für alle Songs“ aktiviert ist, wird also nicht mehr auf -1dbTP normalisiert. Juhu wunderbar… Aber was heißt das genau?

KEINE EINSCHRÄNKUNGEN BEI DYNAMISCHEN SONGS AUF SPOTIFY

Die normalisierungs Lautheit bei Spotify beträgt standardmäßig -14 LUfs für alle, es sei denn, man hat diese Einstellung deaktiviert. Wenn man aber betrachtet, dass bisher leidiglich 17% der Spotify Nutzer diese Einstellung deaktiviert haben, so hat man im Umkehrschluss immer noch 83% die genau diese Normalisierung Eurer Songs verwenden.

Premium Nutzer haben bezüglich Lautheit dagegen einige Einstellungsmöglichkeiten mehr :

Leise-23 LUFS
Normal-14 LUFS
Laut-11 LUFS

Leise: Ideal für perfekte Abhörumgebung mit hoher Dynamik-Wiedergabe

Normal: Standard Einstellung und für die meisten Benutzer ok.

Laut: Einstellung um in lauter Umgebung, die Musik noch genießen zu können. Hier wird Spotify WEITERHIN eine Pegelanhebung und anschließendes Limiting verwendet um Übersteuerungen von leiserem Material als -11 LUfs zu vermeiden. Songs die sowieso schon lauter als -11 LUfs bei Spotify hochgeladen werden, bleiben davon wie bisher unberührt.

WAS BEDEUTET DAS FÜR MEINE SONGS?

Wie wir bereits gelernt haben, ist Spotify nicht daran interessiert „clipping“ in den Einstellungen „Leise“, und „Normal“ zu vermeiden. Dabei wird nun künfitg bei leiseren Songs als -14 LUfs, die Lautheit nicht mehr angehoben!

Folgendes Beispiel:

Wir haben einen Song der sehr dynamisch ist. Dieser hat eine durchschnittliche Lautheit über die gesamte Wiedergabe von -16 LUfs mit einem TP von -0,5 dbTP. 

Mit der aktuellen Regelung wird am Titel nichts mehr verändert. Er wird also genau so ausgespielt, wie er hochgeladen wird.

Doch VORISCHT: Bei nicht Einhaltung der TruePeak Werte, kann es bei Konvertierungen in andere Abspielformate durch Spotify, zu „Clipping“ kommen. Bei dynamischen Songs wird es also noch wichtige sein, auf die TruePeak Werte beim exportieren und hochladen zu achten!

WIR MACHEN DEINEN SONG STREAMING READY!

Wir achten nicht nur auf technische Spezifikationen der Anbieter, sondern können auch deinen Song in allen Codex, die die Streaming-Anbieter verwenden vorhören und dementsprechend anpassen!

UNSERE MEINUNG ZUR ABSCHALTUNG DES LIMITERS

Wir sehen diese Veränderung für absolut positiv. Spotify war bisher auch der einzige Anbieter der einen Limiter nach Anhebung des Pegels verwendet hatte. Dadurch werden die Spezifikationen immer einheitlicher. Wenn man sich an die letzten Jahre zurück erinnernt, als noch jeder Streaming-Anbieter geamcht hatte, wonach ihm der Sinn stand.

Durch die immer mehr einheitlich werdenden Upload-Spezifikationen, wird es auch für den Künstler, dem Tonstudio und später dem Mastering-Engineer immer einfacher werden ein online Mastering für Streaming anbieter zu erstellen.