TOP DOWN MIXING

FASTER TO A BETTER MIXDOWN

 

At the "top-down mixing“You get faster for a better mix and this with fewer plugins. In addition, only what is really needed is removed from the signal. This becomes yours Song much more musical and you have to struggle with fewer phase problems because fewer filters have to be used.

WHAT IS TOP DOWN MIXING?

Top down mixing is a technique that, as the name suggests, is mixed from top to bottom. In our case, if you take the master bus as "above" and the individual tracks as "below", it quickly becomes clear that we are with our Mixing on the master bus begin.

The aim here is to record the song in the master track and in the individual group tracks as far as possible tonal, hospital and dynamic to be perfected in such a way that we save as much as possible of single-track processing.

WHAT ARE THE ADVANTAGES OF TOP-DOWN MIXING?

  • Faster overall result
  • Detect interference areas earlier
  • Less plugins
  • More musical sound
  • Less phase problems
  • More controlled result for later mastering

HOW DOES TOP-DOWN MIXING WORK

  1. We open ours Master bus or stereo out in our DAW. Here we need at least an EQ and a limiter. If you want to compress a little more specifically, you can also load a normal VCA, FET Cmpressor or a multiband compressor into the channel.

    In the limiter, we first choose one of the standard Mastering presets and pull the threshold down until the song as a whole has a loudness that other titles in your genre also have. Then we try out different presets and decide which one suits our song best.
Top Down Mixing Master Bus Process Peak Studios
Master bus process
  1. Now we start with the "leveling " of the individual groups channels and at the same time also take the Panorama distribution, if necessary. Afterwards we dedicate ourselves to the individual channels within the group lanes and do the same as described above. So we have a very rough one Rough mix.
Top Down Mixing Bus Process Peak Studios
Group bus process
  1. Now we go back to the master bus and start with that Equalizer to raise and lower frequency rangesuntil we get a little closer to our desired end result.

    In order to be able to work more efficiently and objectively here, we repeatedly compare A / B with our reference.

    If we have not yet come to a satisfactory result with the limiter and the equalizer, we can do another one Compressor get help. The use of existing presets also applies here. These can be modified according to your wishes and needs.

    First and foremost, it is important to rely on what has been heard. If this is still too little or inaccurate, you are of course welcome to use a metering system.

  1. After we have processed the master bus to our satisfaction, we go to the Group lanes over. The way to the mastering studio is often found here and a so-called Stem mastering made (mastering of group tracks).

    Here we need an equalizer and optionally one or more compressors. In the group tracks, we combine individual instruments or sounds into groups.

    Useful groups would be e.g. drums, bass, vocals, backings or choirs, guitars, EFX, strings etc.

    First of all, we will bypass all active plugins so that we only hear the raw material. Then we switch everything on again and process the individual groups with the compressor and the EQ, as described in the points above. We carry out a "comparison check" and switch all plugins to bypass again. This helps us to get a before / after feeling and to decide whether we like the sound so much, or if we would like to have one or the other frequency or sound characteristic in the title that we suddenly no longer hear after editing.

Top Down Mixing Bus Leveling Peak Studios
Group track leveling
  1. We modify our master bus again in coordination with the individual group lanes until we have achieved a better result than before.

 

  1. Now we start with the individual track processing and modify each of these with an equalizer and / or compressor so that they contribute positively to our overall result. First we modify these to the sound of the individual group tracks and then to the entire title. Here, too, we turn on again A / B comparison with and without plugins.
  1. As soon as we have coordinated all channels in our mix, we can turn to the musical processing in the next step.

    So we add sound-changing processes added. This can be done by one Reverb to Delay or other fancy effects such as phasers, Auto tune, Saturation or automations. In doing so, however, the overall result and the sound of the master track should always be taken into account and, if necessary, changed again according to the above order.

    An A / B comparison with and without plugins should be made here in any case!

  1. If everything is sound to our satisfaction, then as a last step we check again whether all Specifications for the respective medium or streaming provider were adhered to.

    We should ask ourselves here whether our loudness is competitive, we are working in the correct file format Sample Rate and bit depth is correct and whether Output peak and TruePeak correspond to the selected specifications.

    One last look whether the frequency response is similar to our reference and we can export the finished song.

TOP-DOWN MIXING SECRET TIP

In order to recognize necessary changes or superimpositions of frequencies and instruments that can hide each other even more efficiently, we recommend the following procedure:

Grab one Analyzer in which you can isolate a certain frequency band, ideally you can in the analyzer as well Middle and side signal listen separately.

If these options are not available to you, a simple multiband compressor is sufficient.

But be careful: set this so that no processing takes place here in the form of compression. Now you have at least 3 or more tapes that you can listen to or listen to separately from each other.

If you now solo the middle signal or side signal, you can use the frequency band isolation to listen to individual sections of your song and compare them with your reference and, if necessary, make the necessary changes in individual group or instrument tracks. A simple example of this is the bass range, which we can freely define from 20 Hz to 100 Hz.

If you switch this area solo and listen to the side signal, you can quickly determine whether your bassline or other instruments leave bass components in the side signal, which the "mono middle" could no longer be differentiated enough.

Conversely, if you listen to the middle signal separately, you can also determine here whether instruments or vocals are playing too much in the low-end area and thus perhaps masking overtones of your baseline or kick drum and robbing this area of ​​energy.

TOP-DOWN-MIXING

SCHNELLER ZUM BESSEREN MIXDOWN

 

Beim „top down mixing“ gelangt Ihr schneller zum besseren Mix und dies mit weniger Plugins. Zudem wird nur das im Signal entfernt, was wirklich benötigt wird. Dadurch wird Euer Song wesentlich musikalischer und ihr habt mit weniger Phasen-Problemen zu kämpfen, da weniger Filter verwendet werden müssen.

WAS IST TOP DOWN MIXING?

Bei top down mixing handelt es sich um eine Technik, bei der wie der Name schon sagt, von oben nach unten gemischt wird.  Wenn man in unserem Fall als „oben“ den Master Bus nimmt und als „unten“ die einzelnen Spuren, so wird schnell klar, dass wir mit unserem Mixing am Masterbus beginnen.

Ziel hierbei ist es, möglichst in der Masterspur und in den einzelnen Gruppenspuren den Song tonal, spital und dynamisch schon so zu perfektionieren, dass wir uns möglichst viel der Einzelspur-Bearbeitung sparen.

WELCHE VORTEILE HAT TOP-DOWN-MIXING?

  • Schnelleres Gesamtergebnis
  • StörBereiche früher erkennen
  • Weniger Plugins
  • Musikalischerer Klang
  • Weniger Phasen Probleme
  • Kontrollierteres Ergebnis für ein späteres Mastering

WIE FUNKTIONIERT TOP-DOWN-MIXING

  1. Wir öffnen unseren Master-Bus oder Stereo out in unserer DAW. Hier benötigen wir mindestens einen EQ und einen Limiter. Wer etwas gezielter vor komprimieren möchte, kann hier gerne einen normalen VCA, FET Cmpressor oder einen Multibandkompressor noch zusätzlich in den Kanal laden.

    Im Limiter wählen wir erstmal eines der Standard Mastering Presets und ziehen den threshold so weit nach unten bis der Song im Ganzen eine Lautheit besitzt, welche andere Titel in eurem Genre auch besitzen. Im Anschluss probieren wir verschiedene Presets durch und entscheiden uns für das, welches am Besten zu unserem Song passt.
Top Down Mixing Master Bus Prozess Peak-Studios
Master Bus Prozess
  1. Nun beginnen wir mit dem „leveling“ der einzelnen Gruppen Kanäle und nehmen gleichzeitig auch hier die Panorama-Verteilung, sofern nötig, vor. Im Anschluss widmen wir uns den einzelnen Kanälen innerhalb der Gruppenspuren und führen selbiges wie oben beschrieben durch. So haben wir schon mal einen ganz groben Rough Mix.
Top Down Mixing Bus Prozess Peak-Studios
Gruppen Bus Prozess
  1. Nun gehen wir wieder zurück in den Master Bus und fangen an mit dem Equalizer Frequenzbereiche anzuheben und abzusenken, bis wir unserem gewünschten Endergebnis ein Stückchen näher kommen.

    Um hier noch effizienter und objektive arbeiten zu können, vergleichen wir immer wieder A/B mit unserer Referenz.

    Sollten wir mit dem Limiter und dem Equalizer noch nicht zu einem zufriedenstellenden Ergebnis gekommen sein, so können wir uns hierfür noch einen Kompressor zu Hilfe ziehen. Auch hier gilt erst mal das Verwenden von vorhandenen Presets. Diese lassen sich nach Wunsch und gefallen dementsprechend modifizieren.

    Wichtig ist es sich in erster Linie auf das Gehörte zu verlassen. Wem das noch zu wenig oder ungenau ist, darf sich natürlich gerne ein Metering zur Hilfe nehmen.

  1. Nachdem wir den Master Bus zu unserer Zufriedenheit bearbeitet haben, gehen wir zu den Gruppenspuren über.

    Hier benötigen wir einen Equalizer und wahlweise einen oder mehrere Kompressoren. In dem Gruppenspuren fassen wir einzelne Instrumente oder Sounds zu Gruppen zusammen.

    Sinnvolle Gruppen wären z.B. Drums, Bass, Vocals, Backings oder Chöre, Gitarren, EFX, Streicher etc.

    Zuallererst stellen wir alle aktiven Plugins auf Bypass, so dass wir nur das Rohmaterial hören. Im Anschluss schalten wir alles wieder an und bearbeiten die einzelnen Gruppen mit dem Kompressor und dem EQ, wie in den Punkten oberhalb beschrieben. Wir führen noch einen „vergleichs-Check“ durch und schalten wieder alle Plugins auf Bypass. Dies hilft uns dabei ein Vorher/Nachher Gefühl zu bekommen und zu entscheiden, ob uns der Klang so gefällt, oder wir doch die ein oder andere Frequenz- oder Klangeigenschaft mit im Titel haben möchten, die wir nach Bearbeitung auf einmal nicht mehr hören.

Top Down Mixing Bus Leveling Peak-Studios
Gruppenspur Leveling
  1. Wir modifizieren unseren Masterbus in Abstimmung mit den einzelnen Gruppenspuren noch einmal nach, bis wir ein besseres Ergebnis als zuvor erreicht haben.

 

  1. Nun beginnen wir mit der Einzelspur Bearbeitung und modifizieren diese jeweils mit einem Equalizer und/oder Kompressor so, dass diese positiv zu unserem Gesamtergebnis Beitragen. Erst modifizieren wir diese auf den Klang der einzelnen Gruppenspur und dann auf den gesamten Titel. Auch hier machen wir wieder an A/B Vergleich mit und ohne Plugins.
  1. Sofern wir alle Kanäle in unserem Mix aufeinander abgestimmt haben, können wir uns im nächsten Schritt der musikalischen Bearbeitung zuwenden.

    Wir fügen also klangverändernde Prozesse hinzu.  Dies können von einem Reverb bis zum Delay oder anderen ausgefallenen Effekten wie Phaser, Autotune, Saturation oder Automationen sein. Hierbei sollte aber immer das Gesamtergebnis und der Klang der Master-Spur beachtet und ggf. neu nach der oberigen Reihenfolge abgeändert werden.

    Ein A/B Vergleich mit und ohne Plugins, sollte hier in jedem Falle gemacht werden!

  1. Ist nun alles klanglich zu unserer Zufriedenheit, so überprüfen wir noch einmal als letzten Schritt, ob alle Spezifikationen für das jeweilige Medium oder Streaming-Anbieter eingehalten wurden.

    Wir sollten uns hierbei fragen, ob unsere Lautheit konkurrenzfähig ist, wir im richtigen Fileformat arbeiten, die Sample-Rate und Bittiefe stimmt und ob Output Peak und TruePeak den gewählten Spezifikationen entsprechen.

    Ein letzter Blick ob der Frequenzgang ähnlich unsere Referenz ist und wir können den fertigen Song exportieren.

TOP-DOWN-MIXING GEHEIMTIPP

Um noch effizienter nötige Veränderungen oder Überlagerungen von Frequenzen und Instrumente, die einander kaschieren können zu erkennen, empfehlen wir Euch folgendes Vorgehensweise:

Schnappt euch einen Analyzer bei dem Ihr ein gewisses Frequenzband isolieren könnt, im Idealfall könnt ihr im Analyzer auch noch Mitten- und Seiten-Signal getrennt abhören.

Sollten diese Möglichkeiten Euch nicht zur Verfügung stehen, reicht hier auch ein einfacher Multiband Kompressor.

Aber Vorsicht: stellt diesen so ein, dass hier keine Bearbeitung in Form von Kompression stattfindet. Nun habt ihr zumindest 3 oder mehr Bänder die ihr getrennt voneinander anhören bzw abhören könnt.

Wenn ihr jetzt noch Mitten-Signal bzw. Seiten-Signal solo schaltet, ist es Euch möglich mithilfe der Frequenzband-Isolation einzelne Teilbereiche von Eurem Song anzuhören und mit eurer Referenz abzugleichen und gegebenenfalls in einzelnen Gruppen- oder  Instrumenten- Spuren die notwendigen Änderungen vorzunehmen. Ein einfaches Beispiel hierfür ist der Bassbereich den wir  mal frei von 20 Hz bis 100 Hz definieren.

Schaltet ihr Euch diesen Bereich solo und hört das Seiten Signal ab, könnt ihr schnell feststellen, ob eure Bassline oder andere Instrumente, Bass-Anteile im Seiten Signal hinterlassen, welches die „Mono-Mitte“ nicht mehr differenzierbar genug darstellen lassen könnten.

Wenn ihr im Umkehrschluss dass Mitten-Signal getrennt abhört, könnt ihr auch hier feststellen, ob Instrumente oder vocals zu sehr in den Low-end Bereich mit einspielen und dadurch vielleicht Obertöne eurer baseline oder Kick-Drum kaschieren und diesem Bereich Energie rauben.