Price developments for music equipment in the studio industry

The entire studio industry has had to go through a lot within the last two years, among other things due to the pandemic, regardless of whether it is a recording studio or a mastering studio acts. Trade disputes between China and the USA, delivery problems and not to forget the current energy crisis are certainly responsible for a 2020% increase in prices for mixing consoles since 63! In the further course of the article we will now deal with the demand and price development in this segment and shed light on the background to the changes.

 

Price development for music equipment - the current status

An investigation by idealo.de on their platform in relation to the demand and price development of synthesizers, mixers and (special) DJ equipment (such as audio software, DJ mixers and media players) provides insightful insights here.

  • Corona seems to bring more people to music: In the first year of Corona, the demand for mixing consoles and synthesizers rose by up to 55 percent, and for classical instruments by up to 50 percent.
  • Average mixing console prices have increased by 2020 percent since 63.
  • The Soundcraft Ui24R is the most popular mixer at idealo, and the FL Studio 20 Producer from Image Line is the clear favorite among the audio software

 

One could find out that since January 2000 the price of mixing consoles in particular had increased significantly. The biggest jump can be seen between July 2021 and April 2022 - during this period the price doubled.

 

Increase in demand in the guitar segment

According to industry association Somm (Society Of Music Merchants) based in Berlin, the demand for electric guitars from January to November 2020 rose by almost 30 percent compared to the same period last year, and by 20 percent for acoustic guitars. The increase in demand was of course a major challenge for the suppliers.

demand in the pro audio sector

In the professional field of audio engineering around recording studios, the demand seems to be similar to before the pandemic or even declining. Regardless of whether these are active studio monitors, analog Equalizer or audio compressors if you exchange ideas with colleagues in the industry, it seems as if the purchasing behavior of studio operators is at least not increasing exorbitantly. Due to the rising prices for a universal audio interface or a Flock audio patch xt, for example, investments are sometimes not made. Unfortunately, exact evaluations and statistics are hard to find in this segment.

Of course, the question remains open as to whether the price development is related to increasing demand or not (past) supply bottlenecks, increasing inflation or simply better technology had an influence on it. We can only speculate at this point.

Which problems are known to us and what influence they can have

The global semiconductor crisis

At the beginning of the corona pandemic in spring 2020, there were fears that the semiconductor market would collapse. In any case, due to the rapidly accelerating digitization in a wide variety of segments, demand was significantly higher than production capacities. Also due to the increasing employment in the home office and online conferences, the capacity gap became larger and larger.

 

The shortage of semiconductors is having an extreme impact on the automotive industry. During the lockdown and short-time work period, car manufacturers recorded production losses and falling sales figures. As a result, orders for semiconductors were reduced, and in many cases even canceled.

 

Not to be neglected here is the fire on October 20, 2020 at the chip manufacturer Asahi Kasei Microdevices, better known to many technology enthusiasts and audiophiles as AKM. Numerous manufacturers of high-quality stereo and multi-channel components rely on the Japanese company's exclusive D/A converters and Bluetooth chipsets. The powerful processors are manufactured in a dedicated factory in Nobeoka City, Japan.

 

The company's importance in the pro audio market is immense: the company's particularly high-quality digital/analogue/analogue/digital converters can be found in a number of devices - including Solid State Logic (SSL), Universal Audio, TASCAM, miniDSP, Merging Technologies, SPL Germany and RME.

Effects of the war in Ukraine

Even the war in Ukraine doesn't simply pass by the pro audio manufacturers. According to Behringer the situation on the market for chips has worsened again: Because of the war in the Ukraine, the production plants there for the noble gas neon, which is needed for chip production, had to close. A global bottleneck is imminent. Ukraine supplies around half of the world's neon production. Of course, this means that the production of audio interfaces or for analog equipment with a digital interface such as devices from Bettermaker Audio is at risk.

The current energy crisis and logistics problems

Price shock: In a year-on-year comparison to 2021, the gas price rose by an average of 184 percent, which means almost a tripling for private customers. Added to this are the developments in the field of fuels. The situation can of course also be adapted to the manufacturers. It doesn't get any easier for them to create great equalizers and compressors for mixing and mastering. Electricity is also required for the assembly of the components and the supply chains and transport costs are also significantly more expensive. The increased energy prices are passed on to the products and lead to an increase in the price of the goods.

 

You should also consider that logistics costs have increased tenfold in some areas. Containers are standing around at the ports and ships or freight trains are sometimes unloaded with extreme delays.

 

Increased costs for packaging material?

Right! The shortage of waste paper, which is due to the fact that less was printed during the lockdown and there is now less waste paper, leads to increased costs and a shortage of packaging material. Shipping in boxes from the manufacturer, such as RME or Universal Audio, to the wholesaler or retailer, including Thomann, is common, and then shipping to the end customer. It is hardly possible to send the goods without outer packaging made of cardboard/paper. An alternative would be plastic here, but in terms of the environment that would probably not be the case. The packaging material is a factor in the calculation of goods and naturally also increases.

 

Reduced magnesium production

The Chinese central administration had decided to meet its CO2 targets and to almost halve the production of magnesium as just one adjusting screw. With a share of 80 to 85 percent, China is the market leader in global magnesium production.

In fact, the alkaline earth metal magnesium is also important in the instrument industry. For example, this raw material is part of violin, cello or double bass strings, guitar strings or bottlenecks and other small metal parts for studio equipment such as microphone construction or our analog helpers in the recording studio.

 

Summary

Even if the situation is not really relaxed due to the war in Ukraine and the increasing costs in the individual process steps, it is to be hoped that the manufacturers will see this as an opportunity and that a rethink will take place.

 

A first ray of hope, for example, is that Intel and Samsung, among others, are investing in new chip factories. In the state of Ohio, for example, a construction is already planned. Production is expected to start in 2025. This could lead to relaxation in this segment and overcome delivery bottlenecks.

your contact

Do you have any questions or would you like to speak personally about your project?

Chris Jones

Managing Director of Peak Studios

Contact Form

Request your successful project now without obligation!

Preisentwicklungen für Musikequipment in der Studiobranche

Die gesamte Studiobranche hat innerhalb der letzten zwei Jahre unter anderem pandemiebedingt einiges durchmachen müssen und das unabhängig davon, ob es sich um ein Recordingstudio oder ein Masteringstudio handelt. Handelsstreitigkeiten zwischen China und den USA, Lieferschwierigkeiten und nicht zu vergessen die aktuelle Energiekrise verantworten sicherlich unter anderem einen Anstieg der Preise für Mischpulte seit 2020 um 63%! Im weiteren Verlauf des Beitrags beschäftigen wir uns nun mit der Nachfrage und der Preisentwicklung in diesem Segment und beleuchten die Hintergründe für die Veränderungen.

 

Preisentwicklung für Musikequipment – Der aktuelle Stand

Eine Untersuchung von idealo.de auf deren Plattform in Bezug auf die Nachfrage und Preisentwicklung von Synthesizern, Mischpulten und (speziellem) DJ-Equipment (wie Audiosoftware, DJ-Mixer, und -Media-Player) gibt hier aufschlussreiche Einblicke.

  • Corona scheint mehr Menschen zur Musik zu bringen: Im ersten Coronajahr stieg die Nachfrage nach Mischpulten und Synthesizern um bis zu 55 Prozent, bei den klassischen Instrumenten um bis zu 50 Prozent.
  • Die durchschnittlichen Preise für Mischpulte sind seit 2020 um 63 Prozent gestiegen.
  • Das Ui24R von Soundcraft ist das beliebteste Mischpult bei idealo, unter den Audio Softwares ist FL Studio 20 Producer von Image Line klarer Favorit

 

Man konnte herausfinden, dass vor allem Mischpulte seit Januar 2000 einen gehörigen Preiszuwachs hatten. Der größte Sprung ist dabei zwischen Juli 2021 und April 2022 zu sehen – in dieser Zeitspanne verdoppelte sich der Preis.

 

Nachfrageanstieg im Segment Gitarre

Laut Branchenverband Somm (Society Of Music Merchants) mit Sitz in Berlin stieg die Nachfrage nach elektrischen Gitarren von Januar bis November 2020 im Vergleich zum Vorjahreszeitraum um knapp 30 Prozent, bei den akustischen Gitarren um 20 Prozent. Für die Lieferanten war der Nachfrageanstieg natürlich eine große Herausforderung.

Nachfrage im Pro-Audio Sektor

Im professionellen Bereich der Tontechnik rund um Tonstudios scheint die Nachfrage ähnlich wie vor der Pandemie zu sein bzw. sogar zurück zu gehen. Egal ob es sich hierbei um aktive Studiomonitore, analoge Equalizer oder Audio-Kompressoren handelt, wenn man sich mit den Kollegen der Branche austauscht scheint es so, als würde das Kaufverhalten der Studiobetreiber zumindest nicht exorbitant ansteigen. Durch die steigenden Preise für beispielsweise ein Universal Audio Interface oder eine Flock audio patch xt bleiben teilweise Investitionen aus. Exakte Auswertungen und Statistiken sind in diesem Segment leider kaum zu finden.

Natürlich bleibt die Frage offen, ob die Preisentwicklung vielleicht doch mit einer steigenden Nachfrage zusammenhängt oder nicht auch (vergangene) Lieferengpässe, die zunehmende Inflation oder schlichtweg bessere Technik Einfluss darauf hatten. Wir können an dieser Stelle lediglich spekulieren.

Welche Problematiken uns bekannt sind und welchen Einfluss sie haben können

Die weltweite Halbleiterkrise

Schon zu Beginn der Corona-Pandemie im Frühjahr 2020 wurde befürchtet, dass der Halbleitermarkt einbrechen würde. Ohnehin war die Nachfrage aufgrund der rasant beschleunigenden Digitalisierung in unterschiedlichsten Segmenten deutlich höher als die Produktionskapazitäten. Auch aufgrund der zunehmenden Beschäftigung im Homeoffice und Online-Konferenzen wurde die Kapazitätslücke immer größer.

 

Extreme Auswirkungen hat der Halbleitermangel auf die Autoindustrie. Während der Lockdown- und Kurzarbeiterzeit verzeichneten die Automobilhersteller Produktionsausfälle und sinkende Absatzzahlen. In der Folge wurden die Bestellungen von Halbleitern reduziert, in zahlreichen Fällen sogar storniert.

 

Nicht zu vernachlässigen sei hier das Feuer am 20. Oktober 2020 beim Chip-Hersteller Asahi Kasei Microdevices, vielen Technik-Begeisterten und Audiophilen besser bekannt als AKM. Zahlreiche Hersteller hochwertiger Stereo- und Mehrkanal-Komponenten setzen auf die exklusiven D/A-Wandler und Bluetooth-Chipsets des japanischen Unternehmens. Die leistungsstarken Prozessoren werden in einer eigenen Fabrik in Nobeoka City, Japan hergestellt.

 

Die Bedeutung der Firma im Pro-Audio-Markt ist immens: So finden sich die besonders hochwertigen Digital/Analog- Analog/Digital-Wandler des Unternehmens in etlichen Geräten – darunter Solid State Logic (SSL), Universal Audio, TASCAM, miniDSP, Merging Technologies, SPL Deutschland und RME.

Auswirkungen durch den Krieg in der Ukraine

Auch der Krieg in der Ukraine zieht nicht einfach so an den Pro-Audioherstellern vorbei. Laut Behringer hat sich die Situation auf dem Markt für Chips nochmals verschärft: Wegen des Kriegs in der Ukraine mussten die dortigen Produktionsanlagen für das Edelgas Neon schließen, das für die Chipherstellung gebraucht wird. Es droht ein weltweiter Engpass. Die Ukraine liefert rund die Hälfte der weltweit hergestellten Menge Neon. Das bedeutet natürlich, das die Herstellung von Audiointerfaces oder auch für Analoges Equipment mit digitaler Oberfläche wie beispielsweise Geräte von Bettermaker Audio gefährdet ist.

Die aktuelle Energiekrise und Logistikprobleme

Preisschock: Im Jahresvergleich zu 2021 stieg der Gaspreis im Durchschnitt um 184 Prozent, was nahezu einer Verdreifachung für private Kunden bedeutet. Hinzu kommen die Entwicklungen im Bereich der Treibstoffe. Die Situation lässt sich natürlich auch auf die Hersteller adaptieren. Für diese wird es nicht gerade einfacher tolle Equalizer und Kompressor zum Mischen und Mastern herzustellen. Auch für die Montage der Bauteile wird Strom benötigt und die Lieferketten und Transportkosten werden ebenfalls deutlich teurer. Die gestiegenen Energiepreise werden auf die Produkte umgewälzt, und führen zu einem Preisanstieg der Ware.

 

Man bedenke zudem, dass sich die Logistikkosten in manchen Bereichen verzehnfacht haben. An den Häfen stehen die Container herum und Schiffe oder auch Frachtzüge werden teils mit extremen Verzögerungen entladen.

 

Erhöhte Kosten für Verpackungsmaterial?

Richtig! Der Altpapiermangel, welcher darauf zurückzuführen ist, dass während des Lockdowns weniger gedruckt wurde und nun weniger Altpapier vorhanden ist führt zu erhöhten Kosten bzw. einem Mangel an Verpackungsmaterial. Üblich ist der Versand in Kartons vom Hersteller wie z.B. RME oder auch Universal Audio zum Groß- oder Einzelhändler, hier zu nennen unter anderem Thomann und anschließend der Versand zum Endkunden. Die Ware ohne eine Umverpackung aus Pappe/Papier zu versenden ist kaum möglich. Eine alternative wäre hier Plastik aber im Sinne der Umwelt wäre das wohl eher nicht. Das Verpackungsmaterial ist ein Faktor in der Warenkalkulation und schnellt so natürlich ebenfalls in die Höhe.

 

Magnesiumproduktion gedrosselt

Die chinesische Zentralverwaltung hatte beschlossen, ihre CO2-Ziele einzuhalten und als lediglich eine Stellschraube dafür die Produktion von Magnesium beinahe zu halbieren. China ist mit einem Anteil von 80 bis 85 Prozent Marktführer der weltweiten Magnesiumproduktion.

Tatsächlich ist das Erdkalimetall Magnesium auch in der Instrumentenbranche wichtig. So ist dieser Rohstoff beispielsweise Bestandteil von Geigen-, Cello- oder Kontrabassseiten, auch Gitarrenseiten oder Bottlenecks und weiteren metallischen Kleinteilen für Studioequipment wie im Mikrofonbau oder unseren analogen Helfern im Tonstudio.

 

Fazit

Auch wenn die Lage sich aufgrund des Krieges in der Ukraine und der steigenden Kosten in den einzelnen Prozessschritten nicht wirklich entspannt bleibt zu hoffen, dass die Hersteller dies als Chance sehen und ein Umdenken stattfindet.

 

Ein erster Lichtblick ist beispielsweise, dass unter anderem Intel und Samsung in neue Chip-Fabriken investieren. Im Bundesstaat Ohio ist beispielsweise schon ein Bau geplant. Der Produktionsbeginn soll dann voraussichtlich 2025 starten. Dies könnte zu einer Entspannung in diesem Segment führen und Lieferengpässe bewältigen.