Configuration of a Windows audio workstation

PC configuration for audio applications

If you want to keep your computer as powerful as possible, you have many options. On the one hand, you can have an audio workstation configured by a special dealer, or on the other hand, you can make some changes in the software or regestry settings, which significantly improve the performance when mixing and mastering or other music programs.

Dog configures audio workstation

Data Backup

Before we get to the topic of "Optimizing the configuration settings", we should first of all deal with the topic of data backup. In the course of the article we were allowed to completely reinstall our computer ourselves and were glad that we had already taken precautions in terms of data backup. We would now like to address these precautions first of all.

How do I best secure my data?

In order to cover the data backup effectively and as reliably as possible. we recommend using 3 external hard drives (e.g. USB). You need one hard drive for archiving your music projects or audio projects. The second plate carries a so-called "Real-time backup" by. Here we have chosen the program Genie Timeline Professional  decided. This program backs up your data in real time on request. The third hard drive is used to back up your music programs, Windows programs, purchased software, license keys, activation codes or other private files such as photos or videos. This way your audio files remain completely untouched by the rest. In addition, we recommend that you use the Genie Timeline program and a USB stick to create an emergency recovery data carrier.

What should be secured?

To ensure a good backup, we recommend securing the following points:

  • Audio projects and their files
  • Outlook
  • License keys and serial numbers
  • External software for music or programs (no more download after reinstallation)
  • Project templates, channel settings, audio interface settings
  • Passwords for websites, accounts, etc.

You have already saved these settings with a "real-time backup program" and can reload them as you wish. Nevertheless, it is recommended to save the above points again on an external disk. In this case, double is really better.

How to optimize your PC for audio applications

Keep drivers up to date

Drivers and especially the audio drivers are often forgotten and should always be updated. Not only the drivers of the audio hardware, but also the chipset drivers and service packs of Windows. If you do not want to update this manually, you can use one of the numerous programs. These search your PC for all available drivers and determine in a database whether a current driver is available.

Optimize graphics card for audio applications

Since all drivers are up-to-date, we can search for pre-made "audio profiles" in the properties of the graphics card, or, depending on the manufacturer, we can deactivate unnecessary functions. It is difficult to give precise instructions for this, as the settings vary from manufacturer to manufacturer. Here you have to work your way through point by point. But once you have found the right properties, this is thanks to a considerable increase in the performance of your audio PC.

Latency and buffer settings

If there are cracks or dropouts during recording, mixing your songs, or mastering, one of the reasons for this may be the latency or the so-called ASIO buffer size. In general, you should keep an eye on the VST performance display and increase the latency if necessary. An update of your audio driver is often enough. Basically, audio interfaces that are connected via a PCI or PCIe bus interface have a lower latency than USB or Firewire interfaces.

Your plugins that you use for audio processing also create latency. This can turn out to be considerable in individual cases and in total. CEntrance offers here, after registration, a free plug-in that measures the latency with an accuracy of up to 0,5 ms! So if you want to know exactly which of your plugins makes the box jerk, you should definitely use it.

Deactivate Cortana:

  • First open the start menu and enter there regedit
  • Right-click on the appropriate tile and select "Execute as administrator".
  • Go to the Pfard HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE \ SOFTWARE \ Policies \ Microsoft \ Windows \ Windows Search ”.
  • You will find the entry there "Allow Cortana". If you do not have the appropriate folder, you can create it yourself.
  • Click this with a Doubleand then set the value to 0 and confirm it with "OK".
  • After one restartCortana search is deactivated on your PC.

Adjust UAC setting:

  • Go to the search box and tap msconfig a
  • Click on the tab UAC
  • Move the controller all the way down (never notify)

Optimize performance:

  • Go to the control panel and select the power options
  • Click on Custom settings and put on all the dots highest performance
  • Click on Power plan settings and put on the dots Never

Deactivate firewall and virus protection software: (if possible)

  • Deactivate under the tab system and safety the firewall
  • Deactivate your virus protection software

Setting your processor performance:

  • Right click on it computer and then on Properties
  • Click the tab on the left Advanced system settings
  • In the area Performance you will find the button Settings
  • Deactivate ALL in the first tab Visual effects
  • Set up the processor scheduling in the second tab Background services

Deactivate the Windows sound:

  • Go to the tab in the system settings Hardware and sounds
  • Click on Sounds
  • Choose in Sound scheme the point No sounds and apply these settings.

Services and system start

Again we go to the Windows symbol and enter "msconfig" in the search. There we click on the Services and System Start tab. Experienced PC users can deactivate the unneeded services and programs that load in the background when the system is started in order to free up more resources.

indexing

When the computer is not in use, Windows automatically switches to indexing mode and makes files available for Windows searches. To do this, click in the control panel and enter “indexing” in the search box. In this settings menu you can exclude certain locations and files from being indexed.

Deactivate Aero Peek

To do this, go with the mouse on the Windows symbol and click the right mouse button. Then go to Properties and turn off Aero Peek. Aero Peek is only used for desktop previews and can safely be switched off.

Regulate fan speed

Another method for obtaining resources and optimizing your audio workstation are the fans. These ensure that your hard drives and processors do not overheat. The program speedfan.

SpeedFan takes over the fan regulation independently - if you are familiar with the subject, you can of course also make manual settings. On the one hand, this brings you more performance, and on the other hand, it ensures that your computer runs smoothly.

The blog post is in collaboration with Michael Schumacher emerged.

ITunes, Youtube, Spotify, Amazon und co. – So sollte Euer Song sein! Deutscher Rock & Pop Preis 2018 – Rapper Thööö gewinnt 2. Platz

Konfiguration einer Windows Audio Workstation


PC Konfiguration für Audioanwendungen

Möchte man seinen Rechner möglichst Leistungsstark halten, so hat man viele Möglichkeiten dies zu tun. Zum einen kann man sich bei einem speziellen Händler eine Audio Workstation konfigurieren lassen, oder zum Anderen kann man in den Software bzw. Regestryeinstellungen einige Änderungen vornehmen, die die Leistung beim abmischen und mastern oder sonstigen Musikprogrammen erheblich verbessert.

Hund konfiguriert Audio Workstation

 

Datensicherung

Bevor wir uns mit dem Thema „Optimierung der Konfigurationseinstellungen“ kommen, sollten wir uns zu allererst mit dem Thema Datensicherung beschäftigen. Im Zuge des Artikels haben wir selbst unseren Rechner komplett neu installieren dürfen und waren froh, dass wir im Thema Datensicherung schon Vorkehrungen getroffen hatten. Auf diese Vorkehrungen möchten wir jetzt zu allererst eingehen.

 

Wie sichere ich am Besten meine Daten?

Um die Datensicherung effektiv und möglichst zuverlässig abzudecken. empfehlen wir die Verwendung von 3 externen Festplatten (z.B. USB). Die eine Festplatte benötigt Ihr für die Archivierung Eurer Musikprojekte bzw. Audioprojekte. Die zweite Platte führt eine s.g. „Echtzeitsicherung“ durch. Hier haben wir uns für das Programm Genie Timeline Professional  entschieden. Dieses Programm sichert auf Wunsch in Echtzeit Eure Daten. Die dritte Festplatte wird zur Sicherung Eurer Musikprogramme, Windows Programme, gekaufte Software, Lizenzschlüssel, Aktivierungscodes oder sonstige private Dateien wie Fotos oder Videos verwendet. So bleiben Eure Audiodateien völlig unberührt vom Rest. Zusätzlich empfehlen wir Euch mit dem Programm Genie Timeline und einem USB-Stick einen Notfall Wiederherstellungsdatenträger anzufertigen.

 

Was sollte gesichert werden?

Um eine gute Sicherung zu gewährleisten empfehlen wir folgende Punkte zu sichern:

  • Audio Projekte und dessen Files
  • Outlook
  • Lizenzschlüssel und Seriennummern
  • Externe Software für Musik oder Programme (kein Download mehr nach Neuinstallation)
  • Projekt Templates, Kanaleinstellungen, Einstellungen vom Audio Interface
  • Passwörter für Webseiten, Accounts, etc.

Mit einem „Echtzeit-Backup-Programm“ habt Ihr diese Einstellungen schon gesichert und könnt diese nach belieben wieder neu aufspielen. Dennoch empfiehlt es sich die o.g. Punkte nochmals auf eine externe Platte zu sichern. Doppelt hält in diesem Fall wirklich besser.

 

So optimierst du deinen PC für Audio Anwendungen

 

Treiber aktuell halten

Treiber und besonders die Audio Treiber werden häufig vergessen und sollten immer auf den neuesten Stand gebracht werden. Nicht nur die Treiber der Audiohardware, sondern auch die Chipsatztreiber und Service Packs von Windows. Wer diese nicht manuell auf den neuesten Stand bringen möchte, der kann sich an eines der zahlreichen Programme bedienen. Diese durchsuchen Euren PC nach allen vorhandenen Treibern und ermitteln in einer Datenbank ob ein aktueller Treiber verfügbar ist.

 

Grafikkarte für Audioanwendungen optimieren

Nachdem ja alle Treiber aktuell sind, können wir in den Eigenschaften der Grafikkarte nach vorgefertigten „Audio Profilen“ suchen, oder je nach Hersteller, deaktivieren wir unnötige Funktionen. Eine genaue Anleitung ist hierfür schwer zu geben, da die Einstellungen von Hersteller zu Hersteller variieren. Hier muss man sich Punkt für Punkt durcharbeiten. Aber hat man die richtigen Eigenschaften gefunden, so wird dies durch erhebliche Leistungssteigerung Eures Audio PCs gedankt.

 

Einstellungen von Latenz und Buffer

Sollte es während der Aufnahme, dem Abmischen Eurer Songs, oder dem Mastering zu Knackser bzw. Aussetzer kommen, so kann ein Grund hierfür die Latenz oder der s.g. ASIO Buffersize das Problem sein. Generell sollte man hier die VST Leistungs-Anzeige im Blick behalten und wenn nötig die Latenz erhöhen. Oft reicht auch ein Update Eures Audiotreibers aus. Grundsätzlich haben Audio Interfaces, die über eine PCI- oder PCIe-Bus Schnittstelle angeschlossen sind, eine geringere Latenz als USB- oder Firewire-Interfaces.

Auch Eure Plugins, die Ihr zur Audiobearbeitung nutzt, erzeugen eine Latenz. Diese kann in einzelnen Fällen und in der Summe doch erheblich ausfallen. CEntrance bietet hier, nach Registrierung, ein kostenloses Plugin, welches die Latenz auf bis zu 0,5 ms genau misst! Wer es also genau wissen möchte, welche seiner Plugins die Kiste zum Ruckeln bringt, der sollte sich dessen unbedingt bedienen.

 

Cortana deaktivieren:

  • Öffne zunächst das Startmenü und gebe dort regedit
  • Klicke auf die entsprechende Kachel mit der rechten Maustaste und wähle Als Administrator ausführen„.
  • Gehe zum Pfard ” HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Policies\Microsoft\Windows\Windows Search”.
  • Darin findest Du den Eintrag AllowCortana„. Falls es die entsprechenden Ordner bei Dir nicht gibt, kannst Du diesen selbst anlegen.
  • Klicke diesen mit einem Doppelklickan und setze anschließend den Wert auf 0 und bestätige ihn mit OK„.
  • Nach einem Neustartist die Cortana Suche auf Deinem  PC deaktiviert.

 

UAC Einstellung anpassen:

  • Gehe auf das Suchfeld und tippe msconfig ein
  • Klicke auf den Reiter UAC
  • Fahre den Regler nach ganz untern ( Nie benachrichtigen )

 

Leistung optimieren:

  • Gehe in die Systemsteuerung und wähle die Energieoptionen aus
  • Klicke auf Benutzerdefinierte Einstellungen und setze alle Punkte auf höchste Leistung
  • Klicke auf Energieplaneinstellungen und setze die Punkte auf Niemals

 

Firewall und Virenschutzsoftware deaktivieren: ( wenn möglich )

  • Deaktiviere unter dem Reiter System und Sicherheit die Firewall
  • Deaktiviere Deine Virenschutzsoftware

 

Einstellung deiner Prozessorleistung:

  • Gehe mit einem Rechtsklick auf Computer und dann auf Eigenschaften
  • Klicke auf der linken Seite auf den Reiter Erweiterte Systemeinstellungen
  • Im Bereich Leistung findest Du den Button Einstellungen
  • Deaktiviere im ersten Reiter ALLE Visuellen Effekte
  • Setze die Prozessorzeitplanung im zweiten Reiter auf Hintergrunddienste

 

Deaktiviere die Windows Sound:

  • Gehe in die Systemeinstellung auf den Reiter Hardware und Sounds
  • Klicke auf Sounds
  • Wähle im Soundschema den Punkt Keine Sounds aus und übernehme diese Einstellungen.

 

Dienste und Systemstart

Wieder gehen wir auf das Windows Symbol und geben in die Suche „msconfig“ ein. Dort klicken wir auf die Reiterkarte Dienste und Systemstart. Erfahrene PC Nutzer können hier die nicht benötigten Dienste und Programme die beim Systemstart im Hintergrund laden deaktivieren um so mehr Ressourcen frei zu machen.

 

Indizierung

Wenn der Rechner nicht benutzt wird schaltet Windows automatisch in den Indizierungsmodus und macht Datein für die Windows suche verfügbar.  Klicken Sie hierzu in die Systemsteuerung und geben Sie in der Suche „Indizierung“ ein. In diesem Einstellungsmenü können Sie bestimmte Orte und Datein von der Indizierung ausschließen.

 

Aero Peek deaktivieren

Gehen Sie hierzu mit der Maus auf das Windowssymbol und klicken die rechte Maustaste. Gehen Sie dann zu den Eigenschaften und deaktivieren Sie Aero Peek. Aero Peek dient lediglich zur Desktopvorschau und kann getrost ausgeschaltet werden.

 

Lüftergeschwindigkeit regeln

Eine weitere Methode zur Ressourcen Gewinnung und Optimierung Eurer Audio Workstation sind die Lüfter. Diese sorgen dafür dass Eure Festplatten und Prozessoren nicht heiß laufen. Das Programm SpeedFan.

SpeedFan übernimmt selbstständig die Lüfterregulation – wer sich gut mit dem Thema auskennt, kann natürlich auch manuell Einstellungen vornehmen. Zum Einen bringt das Euch mehr Performance, zum Anderen sorgt es dafür, dass euer Rechner ruhig läuft.

 

Der Blogbeitrag ist in Zusammenarbeit mit Michael Schumacher entstanden.


Stereo-, Stem und Vinylmastering

Falls deine Workstation mal nicht funktioniert, mastern wir gerne Deinen Song!

Wir sorgen dafür, dass sich nach dem Mastering dein Song auch gut anhört. Bei uns gibt es keine Latenz-Probleme!

Mastering bestellen!
Share
Related Posts
  • All
  • By Author
  • By Category
  • By Tag

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.