Tutorial: First Steps on Mixing

First steps on mixing

1. Import files

Important:

Make sure that you have the Files in the project folder copied and, above all, where to find it, because order is half the battle. Convert and copy This is because the files should be adapted to your project settings - which you have hopefully made - not the other way around.

File import Cubase 7
File import Cubase 7

2. Name files correctly / sort files (create folders)

Label files correctly
Label files correctly

In order not to lose track of larger projects, you have to have your Files right to name. You can z. B. choose the following names: Hi-hat 1, hi-hat 2, sub-bass, synth-bass, etc .. I would suggest the sorting of the tracks to make it so that you all instruments of a category (Drums, synths, vocals) sorted by. Alternatively, you can in the track names your panorama setting to include (Hi-Hat Left, Hi-Hat Right, Vocals Middle, etc.). Just at tracks of the same name so you keep the Overview. Just create a few folders and name them accordingly. You can rest assured some for your Vocals, backings, drums, EFX create etc.

3. Create overviews in the digital mixer / routing to groups and output channels

The best way to get an overview is to create folders for Drums, Synthis, Samples, Backing Vocals, Main Vocals, Efx, etc.. create and then in Move top folder, e.g. Drums, vocals. Just like I have named my subfolders and top folders, the Group lanes as well as the Output channels labeled. So you can always understand which Track where heard where she come here and where it leads.

4. Leveling the instruments or tracks / distributing them in the panorama

In principle there is here no "fixed rule". However, you should avoid "Sea"Level, otherwise it would be too"overs“ (digital override / clipping) can come. Do you level to "leisa“A, it can happen that the Distance between recording signal and Self-noise the device is so extremely reduced that you will have problems later processing because the Signal component an sough about the real Recording signal lays. Here one speaks of Signal-to-noise ratio. This point is addressed here in the tutorial, as it is important to create the right conditions for the mix and post-processing while recording.

5. Order of inserts / bouncing of the mixdown

I will explain all of them, and especially the last two points, using one Application example here in Youtube tutorial Video. Since the possibilities in the individual sequences are quite different, there is no short description here.

Tha Liks / Cali Agents / Lords of the Underground in the M/S Zufriedenheit in Würzburg Wie wird eine CD hergestellt?

Tutorial: First Steps on Mixing/Abmischen

First steps on Mixing/Abmischen

1. Files Importieren

Wichtig:

Achtet darauf, dass ihr die Dateien in den Projektordner kopiert und vor allem wo dieser zu finden ist, denn Ordnung ist die halbe Miete. Konvertieren und kopieren deshalb, weil die Dateien euren Projekteinstellungen – die ihr hoffentlich vorgenommen habt – angepasst werden sollen, nicht umgekehrt.

File Import Cubase 7

File Import Cubase 7

2. Files richtig benennen / Files Sortieren (erstellen von Ordner)

Files richtig beschriften

Files richtig beschriften

Um bei größeren Projekten nicht den Überblick verlieren, müsst ihr eure Files richtig benennen. Ihr könnt z. B. folgende Namen wählen: Hi-Hat 1, Hi-Hat 2, Subbass, Synthibass, etc.. Ich würde hierbei vorschlagen, die Sortierung der Spuren so zu gestalten, dass ihr alle Instrumente einer Kategorie (Drums, Synthis, Vocals) nach sortiert. Alternativ könnt ihr auch in den Spurennamen eure Panoramaeinstellung mit einbeziehen (Hi-Hat Links, Hi-Hat Rechts, Vocals Mitte, etc.). Gerade bei gleichnamigen Spuren behaltet ihr somit die Übersicht. Erstellt euch einfach ein paar Ordner und benennt diese dementsprechend. Ihr könnt ganz beruhigt einige für eure Vocals, Backings, Drums, EFX etc. erstellen.

3. Übersichten im digitalen Mixer schaffen / Routing auf Gruppen und Ausgangskanäle

Ich verschaffe mir am Besten Übersicht, indem ich mir Ordner für Drums, Synthis, Samples, Backing Vocals, Main Vocals, Efx, etc. anlege und diese dann in Oberordner verschiebe, z.B. Drums, Vocals. Genau wie ich meine Unterordner und Oberordner benannt habe, werden bei mir auch die Gruppenspuren sowie die Ausgangskanäle beschriftet. So kann man immer nachvollziehen, welche Spur wohin gehört, wo sie her kommt und wohin sie führt.

4. Einpegeln der Instrumente bzw. Spuren / Verteilen im Panorama

Prinzipiell gibt es hierbei keine „feste Regel“. Jedoch solltet ihr vermeiden zu „laut“ einzupegeln, da es sonst zu „overs“ (digitaler Übersteuerung / Clipping) kommen kann. Pegelt ihr zu „leise“ ein, kann es passieren, dass sich der Abstand zwischen Aufnahmesignal und Eigenrauschen der Geräte derart extrem verringert, dass ihr bei der späteren Bearbeitung Probleme bekommt, da sich der Signalanteil an Rauschen über das eigentliche Aufnahmesignal legt. Hierbei spricht man vom Signal-Rausch-Abstand. Dieser Punkt wird hier im Tutorial angesprochen, da es wichtig ist, bereits beim Aufnehmen die richtigen Voraussetzungen für den Mix und die Nachbearbeitung zu schaffen.

5. Reihenfolge von Inserts / Bouncen des Mixdowns

Alle, und speziell die beiden letzten Punkte erkläre ich euch anhand eines Anwendungsbeispieles hier im Youtube Tutorial Video.  Da die Möglichkeiten in den einzelnen Sequenzen ziemlich unterschiedlich sind, gibt es hier keine Kurzbeschreibung dazu.

 
Share
      Related Posts
      • All
      • By Author
      • By Category

      Comments are closed.