THE 10 MOST COMMON MIXED MISTAKES - AND HOW TO AVOID THEM

The quality of mastering is always from Mixing or the quality of the mixdown dependent. We often get ready-mixed tracks for production. It is important for us that these are of the highest possible quality so that we can offer the perfect online master can make! That's why we've compiled the most common mixing mistakes for you. Alternatively, of course, we also offer ours Online mixing service

1. LIMIT / MAXIMIZE

The final process in mastering is maximizing to the optimal volume. If this step is already carried out during mixing, the options for regulating the loudness during the mastering process are limited. This can then lead to distortion of the individual frequencies.

Our advice:

In order to process the mastering optimally, no Limit in total to be available.

2. FILE FORMAT

After the mixdown has been completed, it must be coded. With MP3 encoding, most of the quality is lost, even if not everyone can hear it.

Our advice:

Desirable file formats are Wave, Aiff, SD2, Wave64 or Podcast Wave. The bit resolution should be as high as possible, 32 bits floating point or 24 bit for other sequencers like Logic or Pro Tools. The sampler rate is also important and should be 44,1 khz for Redbook CD, 48 or 96 for DVD-Audio, Streaming or video production.

3. HIHAT IN THE MIX

The hihat is in the very frequency range that is most sensitive to the human ear, between 1000 and 4000 Hz. It is often used in a mix down mixed too dominantly, which is difficult or impossible to compensate for later in the mastering, since there are other tracks in this frequency range, such as voice, synthesizer or snare drum.

Our advice:

I prefer the hihat in the mix take something back, can later be highlighted in the master.

4. VOICE VOLUME

Basically, it is not easy to strike a balance between a voice and the various instruments. Mastering is about getting the best overall sound out of a song. Changing the voice or individual instruments in a finished mix is ​​only possible to a limited extent. Therefore, when mastering it is not always possible to put a voice that is too quiet in the foreground and make it louder.

Our advice:

It is important to ensure that the balance between the voices and the instruments is balanced during production. It is helpful if there are two mixdowns, one Vocal-up version and on the other hand one Vocal-down version, to be created.

5. REVERB PART OF THE VOICE

The question of how much space should be for the lead vocal in a track usually causes extensive discussions during the mix. The decision is on the one hand a matter of taste, but on the other hand it is also tailored to the tempo of the song. If you want to achieve maximum loudness at the end of the mastering, you have to use the compressor and limiter. This causes the quiet passages to become louder, while the loud passages are not maximized, so the dynamics are reduced. Normally, the reverb also belongs to the quiet passages. To avoid too much reverberation, only the compression can be reduced or that stereo image be reduced. However, both processes lead to a minimization of the overall result.

Our advice:

It is important to be aware of this problem and to keep it in mind when mixing down and when in doubt, that Minimize the amount of reverb.

DON'T WANT TO DO MIXING?

You don’t want to deal with mixing, but would rather be creative and make music?

6. SNARE DRUM VOLUME

Since the snare drum contains quite strong transients (the first rapid impulses of a percussion instrument), it often fades into the background during the mastering process. Since they are important for shaping a sound, they have a high level and are usually very energetic. Unfortunately, this is then attacked when limiting.

Our advice:

The snare drum should not be too loud in the mix, otherwise it will unfortunately be lost during mastering. However, you can make them easily audible, which is particularly important if you want to increase the loudness through mastering.

7. BASS DRUM VOLUME

If you start with Mixing with the bass drum and adding more and more instruments in the further steps, the attack (between 1000 and 3000 Hz) of the bass drum falls more and more into the background. This has to do with the fact that there are different sounds in this middle frequency range, e.g. voices, guitars in the Rock mixing, Synths at EDM. These then cover up the attack of the bass drum, which is still clearly audible at the beginning. This is known as the masking effect. It is almost impossible to make them more audible during the mastering process, since the equalizer mainly amplifies the instruments that are already in the foreground.

Our advice:

It is better to use two bass drums if boosting the corresponding frequencies is not enough when mixing. One kick drum is only responsible for the low frequencies (everything below 200 Hz) and the other for all high frequencies (attack). If you filter out all frequencies below 500 Hz with a high-pass filter, they can then be controlled in the mix so that the attack is loud enough.

8. SUBBASS

One of the most important tasks in mastering is the bass range. Superimposing the low frequencies of the bass requires a lot of sensitivity. In addition, about 90% of the files delivered to us are, unfortunately still, too much below 100 hz in the side signals.

Our advice:

It is important that the low frequency range between 20 and 150 Hz is not lost. Especially for HipHop/Rock/Pop productions this is important! Make sure that your bass range stays mono!

9. "S" IN THE VOICE

In many vocal recordings there is the problem of the "s" being too sharp. This is particularly problematic if you double voices, as it can lead to shifts in the "s" sound. There is a compressor that can minimize the problematic "s" sounds, but this operates in a fairly narrow frequency range. This can also be used for mastering, but this affects the entire title and not just the problematic parts. This means that all instruments in the same frequency range are also compressed, i.e. mainly the snare drum and hihat.

Our advice:

If there is a problem with the "S" sound, the de-esser should be used in the mixdown. However, this must be included great care happen because this device forms a “ch” from an “s” and the overall sound image of the voice has to be compromised due to excessive reduction.

10. PHASE CANCELLATION

When two waves of the same frequency meet, which are only slightly offset in time, a wave occurs phase cancellation. This leads to interference, which can lead to a reduction in the level or even to a complete cancellation of the respective frequency. This problem is mainly found in the low frequency ranges. They can be caused by technical errors or by modulation effects (e.g. flanger, chorsus, phaser) or when recording a single sound source with multiple microphones. It is important to also switch the mix to mono to check that the bass has not become too quiet, otherwise the track is dead mono compatible.

Our advice:

It's important that Mono compatibility to be observed during the mixing; this can be done, for example, with the phase correlator display instrument. Small phase shifts can hardly be avoided, or are even often accepted in order to make the sound more interesting. It is important to note that in the low frequencies (below 200Hz) no shifts occur, as this will have significant consequences.

IS YOUR MIX READY?

In our free mix analysis, you can find out whether your song can be refined in analogue form.

Wie wird eine CD hergestellt? Das Masteringstudio

Die 10 häufigsten Fehler im Mix – und wie ich diese vermeide

10 Fehler im Mix


Die Qualität des Masterings ist immer von der Qualität des Mixdowns abhängig. Oft bekommen wir schon fertig gemixte Tracks zur Produktion. Dabei ist es für uns wichtig, dass diese möglichst hochwertig sind, damit wir das perfekte Master anfertigen können!


1. Limiten/Maximieren

Der Finale Prozess beim Mastern ist das Maximieren auf die optimale Lautstärke. Wird dieser Schritt bereits beim Mixen ausgeführt, sind die Möglichkeiten, die Lautheit beim Masteringprozess zu regulieren eingeschränkt. Dies kann dann zu einer Verzerrung der einzelnen Frequenzen führen.

Unser Tipp:

Um das Mastering optimal zu bearbeiten, sollte kein Limiter in der Summe vorhanden sein.

2. Fileformat

Nach Fertigstellung des Mixdowns muss dieser codiert werden. Bei einer MP3-Codierung geht der Großteil der Qualität verloren, auch wenn das nicht für jeden zu hören ist.

Unser Tipp:

Wünschenswerte Fileformate sind Wave, Aiff, SD2, Wave64 oder Podcast Wave. Die Bitauflösung sollte so hoch wie möglich sein, 32 Bit floating Point oder 24 bit für andere Sequenzer, wie Logic oder Pro Tools. Auch die Samplerrate ist von Wichtigkeit und sollte bei 44,1 khz für Redbook-CD, 48 oder 96 für DVD-Audio oder –Videoproduktion liegen.

3. Hihat im Mix

Die Hihat liegt genau in dem Frequenzbereich, der für das menschliche Ohr am empfindlichsten ist, zwischen 1000 und 4000 Hz. Oft wird sie in einem Mixdown zu dominant gemischt, was man später im Mastering nur schwer oder gar nicht ausgleichen kann, da in genau diesem Frequenzbereich noch weitere Spuren, wie z.B. Stimme, Synthesizer oder Snaredrum liegen.

Unser Tipp:

Die Hihat im Mix lieber etwas zurücknehmen, kann man im Master später wieder hervorheben.

4. Lautstärke der Stimme

Grundsätzlich ist das Gleichgewicht zwischen einer Stimme und den verschiedenen Instrumenten herzustellen nicht leicht. Beim Mastering geht es darum den optimalen Gesamtklang aus einem Song herauszuholen. Die Veränderung der Stimme oder einzelner Instrumente in einem fertigen Mix ist nur eingeschränkt möglich. Deshalb ist es beim Mastern nicht immer möglich, eine zu leise Stimme richtig in den Vordergrund zu stellen und lauter zu machen.

Unser Tipp:

Es ist bereits bei der Produktion darauf zu achten, dass die Balance zwischen den Stimmen und den Instrumenten ausgeglichen ist. Hilfreich ist es, wenn gleich zwei Mixdowns, zum einen eine Vocal-Up Version und zum anderen eine Vocal-Down Version, erstellt werden.

5. Reverb-Anteil der Stimme

Die Frage, wie hoch der Raumanteil für die Hauptstimme in einem Track sein soll, sorgt meist für ausführliche Diskussionen während des Mixens. Die Entscheidung ist zum einen Geschmackssache, zum anderen aber auch auf das Tempo des Songs abgestimmt. Wer am Ende des Masterings ein Maximum an Lautheit erreichen möchte, muss den Kompressor und Limiter einsetzen. Dies bewirkt, dass die leisen Passagen lauter werden, während die lauten Stellen aber nicht maximiert werden, also wird die Dynamik reduziert. Zu den leisen Stellen gehört im Normalfall auch der Reverb, hat dieser einen zu hohen Raumanteil wird er jetzt überproportional verstärkt. Um eine zu starken Nachhall zu vermeiden, kann nur die Komprimierung reduziert oder das Stereo-Bild verkleinert werden. Allerdings führen beide Prozesse zu einer Minimierung des Gesamtergebnisses.

Unser Tipp:

Es ist wichtig, sich dieses Problems bewusst zu sein und beim Mixdown daran zu denken und im Zweifelsfall den Reverb-Anteil zu minimieren.

6. Lautstärke der Snaredrum

Da die Snaredrum ziemlich starke Transienten (ersten schnellen Impulse eines Schlaginstrumentes) enthält, weicht sie während dem Masteringprozess oft in den Hintergrund. Da sie wichtig für die Gestaltung eines Klanges sind, haben sie einen hohen Pegel und sind meist sehr energiereich. Beim Limiting wird dieser dann leider angegriffen.

Unser Tipp:

Die Snaredrum sollte im Mix nicht zu laut sein, da sie sonst beim Mastern leider verloren geht. Allerdings kann man sie gut hörbar machen, das ist besonders wichtig, wenn man durch das Mastering eine Erhöhung der Lautheit bezwecken möchte.

7. Lautstärke der Bassdrum

Beginnt man beim Abmischen mit der Bassdrum und addiert in den weiteren Schritten immer mehr Instrumente hinzu, fällt die Attack (zwischen 1000 und 3000 Hz) der Bassdrum immer mehr in den Hintergrund. Das hängt damit zusammen, dass in diesem mittleren Frequenzbereich verschieden Sounds liegen, z.B. Stimmen, Gitarren, Synthesizer. Diese verdecken dann, die Anfang noch gut hörbare, Attack der Bassdrum. Dies bezeichnet man als Masking-Effekt. Es ist nahezu unmöglich diese beim Mastering-Prozess wieder besser Hörbar zu machen, da der Equalizer hauptsächlich die Instrumente verstärkt, die sich schon im Vordergrund befinden.

Unser Tipp:

Es ist besser zwei Bassdrums zu verwenden, wenn beim Mischen eine Anhebung der entsprechenden Frequenzen nicht ausreicht. Die eine Bassdrum ist dann nur für die tiefen (alles unter 200 Hz) und die andere für alle hohen Frequenzen (Attack) zuständig. Filtert man mit einem Hochpassfilter alle Frequenzen unterhalb von 500 Hz heraus, können sie dann im Mix so geregelt werden, dass die Attack laut genug ist.

8. Subbass

Eine der wichtigsten Aufgaben beim Mastern ist der Bassbereich. Das Überlagern der tiefen Frequenzen vom Bass erfordert viel Feingefühl. Außerdem befindet sich bei ca. 90% der bei uns angelieferten Files, leider immer noch, zu viel unter 100 hz in den Seitensignalen.

Unser Tipp:

Es ist wichtig, dass beim Mixdown der tiefe Frequenzbereich zwischen 20 und 150 Hz nicht verloren geht. Besonders für HipHop/Rock/Pop-Produktionen ist das wichtig! Achtet darauf das Euer Bassbereich Mono bleibt!

9. „S“ in der Stimme

Bei vielen Gesangsaufnahmen besteht das Problem des zu scharfen „s“. Besonders problematisch ist das, wenn man Stimmen doppelt, da kann es dann zu Verschiebungen des „s“-Lautes führen. Es gibt einen Kompressor, der die problematischen „s“-Laute minimieren kann, allerdings arbeitet dieser in einem ziemlich engen Frequenzbereich. Dieser kann auch beim Mastering verwendet werden, allerdings wirkt sich das dann auf den kompletten Titel und nicht nur die problematischen Stellen aus. D.h. alle Instrumente im gleichen Frequenzbereich werden mit komprimiert, also hauptsächlich die Snaredrum und Hihat.

Unser Tipp:

Sofern es das Problem mit dem „S“-Laut gibt, sollte der De-Esser im Mixdown angewandt werden. Allerdings muss dies mit großer Sorgfalt geschehen, da dieses Gerät aus einem „s“ ein „ch“ formt und durch zu starker Reduktion abstriche am Gesamtklangbild der Stimme gemacht werden müssen.

10. Phasenauslöschung

Wenn zwei Wellen gleicher Frequenz aufeinander treffen, die zeitlich nur minimal gegeneinander versetzt sind, kommt es zu einer Phasenauslöschung. Dies führt zu Interferenzen, durch welche es zu einer Reduktion des Pegels oder sogar zu einer kompletten Auslöschung der jeweiligen Frequenz kommen kann. Dieses Problem ist hauptsächlich in den tiefen Frequenzbereichen zu finden. Sie können durch technische Fehler oder durch Modulationseffekte (z.B. Flanger, Chorsus, Phaser) entstehen oder wenn man eine einzelne Schallquelle mit mehreren Mikrofonen aufnimmt. Wichtig ist es, den Mix auch auf mono zu schalten, um zu überprüfen, dass der Bass nicht zu leise geworden ist, sonst ist der Track nicht mehr monokompatibel.

Unser Tipp:

Es ist wichtig, die Monokompatibilität während des Mixens zu beobachten, dies kann z.B. durch das Anzeigeninstrument Phasenkorrelator vollzogen werden. Kleine Phasenverschiebungen sind kaum zu vermeiden, oder werden sogar oft in Kauf genommen, um den Sound interessanter zu machen. Wichtig ist, darauf zu achten, dass in den tiefen Frequenzen (unter 200Hz) keine Verschiebungen auftreten, da dies erhebliche Folgen haben wird.


Wir analysieren Ihren Mix und sagen Ihnen ober er bereit fürs Mastering ist!

Fordern Sie jetzt Ihr unverbindliches Angebot an

MIX ANALYSE ANFORDERN!
Share
Related Posts
  • All
  • By Author
  • By Category
  • By Tag

Comments are closed.