Headroom and max headroom in audio production

What is headroom / headroom?

Headroom in audio production is the level span between the largest peak of a level and the clipping limit. In the digital range we are talking about values ​​up to 0 db (fs) and in the analog range of values ​​up to 25 db (u). Important terms that play a role in headroom or max headroom include the noise flor and SNR (signal to noise ratio). Both in mixing and Headroom is an important factor in mastering.

Headroom graphic

Recording headroom

Every recording medium or every analog device, be it microphone or converter in the interface, has a noise level. This level is also known as "analog noise". If a signal is recorded very quietly, the difference between the background noise and the recorded signal is rather small. This difference is called SNR (signal to noise ratio) mix down, just at subsequent compression cause problems, as the background noise is also compressed and thus the noise can be heard by the subsequent increase in the level.

Tip for admission:

If possible, level the signal between -6 and -3 db (fs). So you still have enough dynamic leeway for somewhat louder passages. In classical music or in very dynamic pieces, we recommend setting the audio signal between -12 and -6 db (fs).

Mixing headroom

Headroom when mixing is important because you can use your song as much as possible Bring mastering to a loudness that on the one hand corresponds to the current productions, but on the other hand loses as little of its own dynamism as possible. Here it makes sense to set a headromm of 3-6 db (fs) and accordingly to level the individual tracks in the mix so that this maximum headroom is achieved. So later in mastering you have fewer problems with instruments suddenly appearing much more than you originally thought in the mix. However, this cannot be completely avoided, since in mastering through the Limit strong compression takes place. This can only be avoided by sufficiently compressing the individual tracks in the mixdown so that a certain loudness is created for the desired headroom. However, there are no fixed guide values ​​for this. It is up to the engineer to decide this.

Mastering headroom

Sufficient headroom is desirable and useful, especially when it comes to a sensitive topic such as mastering. Processors and devices that handle dynamics often have to be used in the mastering process. For example, to achieve a compression of the signal or to raise individual frequency bands to compensate for the under-emphasis.

Our advice:

It is best to leave between 3 and 5 db (fs) headroom for mastering. This gives the mastering engineer enough leeway to get the best out of your song.

3 db headroom or 6 db headroom - which is better?

First of all, we need to understand the following. For every 6 db that a song has less gain, we lose 1 bit of dynamics. In pop productions, this may be less important, but in productions that are fundamentally very dynamic, such as in classical music, it can be an essential feature. Even if we export a song with 24 bit, we have a dynamic range of 144 db in which we can let off steam. So if we mix a song with relatively high dynamics and bounce it with a headroom of 18 db (fs), we not only lose 3 bits (we only have 24 bits instead of 21), but also reduce the signal-to-noise ratio considerably a subsequent compression, which can lead to undesirable effects.

Conclusion: We recommend 6 db headroom for dynamic productions. For less dynamic productions 3 db headroom.

What does a 24 bit file or 32 bit (float) file have to do with headroom?

As already described above, with 24 bit we have 144 db dynamic range. With a 32 bit (float) file, however, we have unlimited dynamics. Well not unlimited. More like 1680 db. Which can be described as almost unlimited. With a 32 bit file, the headroom no longer plays a role, because on the one hand we no longer have digital clipping and on the other hand no more rounding errors can occur.

Our advice:

If possible, always export in 32 bit (float). Always set the internal Mixbus resolution in 32 bit (float) - if this is possible.

Rundungsfehler bei falscher Samplerate Online-Mixing.de ausgeraubt! Wir bitten um Mithilfe

Headroom und max Headroom in der Audioproduktion


Was ist Headroom / Aussteuerungsreserve?

Unter Headroom versteht man die Pegelspanne zwischen dem größten Peak (Ausschlag) eines Pegels und der Clippinggrenze. Im Digitalenbereich reden wir von Werten bis 0 db(fs) und im Analogbereich von Werten bis 25 db (u). Wichtige Begriffe die beim Headroom oder max Headroom eine Rolle spielen sind u. a. der Noise Flor und SNR (Signal to noise ratio).

 

Headroom bei der Aufnahme

Jedes Aufnahmemedium bzw. jedes analoge Gerät, sei es Mikrofon oder Wandler im Interface hat einen Rauschpegel. Dieser Pegel ist auch bekannt unter dem Namen „analoges Rauschen“. Wird also ein Signal sehr leise aufgenommen ist die Differenz zwischen Grundrauschen und dem aufgenommenen Signal eher gering. Diese Differenz nennt man SNR (Signal to noise ratio – Signal – Rauschabstand)  Dies kann im Mixdown, gerade bei anschließender Kompression zu Problemen führen, da das Grundrauschen mit komprimiert wird und somit durch die anschließende Anhebung des Pegels das Rauschen zu hören sein kann.

Tipp zur Aufnahme:

Pegel das Signal möglichst so zwischen -6 und -3 db(fs) ein. So hast du noch genug Dynamikspielraum für etwas lautere Passagen. In der Klassik oder in sehr dynamischen Stücken empfehlen wir das Audiosignal zwischen -12 und -6 db(fs) einzupegeln.

Headroom beim Mixing

Headroom beim Mixing ist in sofern wichtig, da man seinen Song möglichst im Mastering auf eine Lautheit bringen möchte, die zum Einen den aktuellen Produktionen entspricht, aber wiederum auch möglichst wenig an Eigendynamik verliert. Hier ist es Sinnvoll sich einen Headromm von 3-6 db(fs) zu setzen und dementsprechend die einzelnen Spuren im Mix so zu pegeln, dass dieser max Headroom erreicht wird. So hat man später im Mastering weniger Probleme damit, dass Instrumente plötzlich viel mehr zum Vorschein kommen als man ursprünglich im Mix angedacht hat. Ganz allerdings lässt sich das nicht vermeiden, da im Mastering durch den Limiter eine starke Kompression stattfindet. Vermeiden kann man dies nur in dem man im Mixdown schon die einzlnen Spuren ausreichend komprimiert, sodass beim gewünschten Headroom eine gewisse Lautheit entsteht. Feste Richtwerte gibt es hierfür allerdings nicht. Dies zu entscheiden liegt im Ohre des Engineers.

Headroom beim Mastering

Gerade wenn es um eine sensibles Thema wie das Mastering geht ist ausreichender Headroom wünschenswert und sinnvoll. Oft müssen im Mastering-Prozess Dynamik bearbeitende Prozessoren und Geräte eingesetzt werden. Zum Beispiel um eine Verdichtung des Signales zu erreichen oder einzelne Frequenzbänder anzuheben um die Unterbetonung auszugleichen.

Unser Tipp:

Für das Mastering lasst Ihr am Besten zwischen 3 und 5 db(fs) Headroom. So ermöglicht Ihr dem Masteringengineer genügend Spielraum um das Beste aus Eurem Song herauszuholen.

 

3 db Headroom oder 6 db Headroom – Was ist besser?

Zunächst einmal müssen wir folgendes verstehen. Pro 6 db die ein Song weniger an Gain hat verlieren wir 1 Bit an dynamik. Dies kann bei Pop Produktionen zwar weniger ins Gewicht fallen, allerdings bei Produktionen die von Grund aus sehr dynamisch sind, wie z.B. in der klassischen Musik, doch ein wesentliches Merkmal sein. Selbst wenn wir einen Song mit 24 bit exportieren haben wir eine Dynamikrange von 144 db in der wir uns austoben können. Mischen wir also einen Song mit relativ hoher Dynamik und bouncen diesen mit einem Headroom von 18 db (fs), so verlieren wir nicht nur 3 Bit (so haben wir statt 24 nur effektiv 21 bit), sondern verringern somit auch den Signal Rauschabstand erheblich bei einer anschließenden Kompression, welches zu unerwünschten Effekten kommen kann. 

Fazit: Wir empfehlen für dynamische Produktionen 6 db Headroom. Für weniger dynamische Produktionen 3 db Headroom.

 

Was hat ein 24 bit File oder 32 bit (float) File mit Headroom zu tun ?

Wie oben schon bechrieben haben wir bei 24 bit 144 db Dynamikrange. Bei einem 32 bit (float) File haben wir allerdings eine unbegrenzte Dynamik. Naja nicht ganz unbegrenzt. Eher 1680 db. Was nahezu als unbegrenzt bezeichnet werden kann. Bei einem 32 bit File spielt also der Headroom somit keine Rolle mehr, da wir zum einen kein digitales Clipping mehr haben, zum anderen auch keine Rundungsfehler mehr entstehen können.

Unser Tipp:

Wenn möglich, immer in 32 bit (float) exportieren. Die Interne Mixbusauflösung auch immer in 32 bit (float) einstellen – sofern dies möglich ist.

 


Mixanalyse deines Songs!

Ist dein Song bereit fürs Mastering? Wir sagen es Dir!

Mit der Mixanalyse von Peak-Studios erfährst Du nicht nur ob dein Song bereit fürs Mastering ist, sondern auch wo die Schwachstellen liegen und wie du diese behebst.

Mix-Analyse bestellen!
Share
Related Posts
  • All
  • By Author
  • By Category
  • By Tag
1 comment
  • Puck

    Wow, bin eben auf diesen Blog gestoßen und kann hier sicher noch jede Menge lernen! Danke für die tollen Infos und Tutorials.